The view from my perch on the mountain

What’s on the card?

Recovering from the recent construction project has kept me close to home the past few days. There is still a little trim work to do on our new front porch but that will have to wait until I can get around a little better. After demolishing the porch rails, replacing the posts and installing new rails my already wrecked back has been giving me so much trouble that I’ve spent most of the last three days under the influence of prescription pain killers with my butt glued to my La-Z-Boy.

I’m thankful for the help I got from my wife, Frankie (THE BOSS), our daughter Laura and my brother in law, Barry (Fish Hook). Without the three of them helping the job wouldn’t have gotten done and it really needed doing. Besides doing most of the lifting they also kept a close eye on me and were ready to give me hell if I pushed myself too hard. It’s really frustrating for me to have the knowledge and experience to undertake a project only to have my physical limitations get in the way. That frustration usually leads to my pushing myself too hard and I end up paying the consequences. This was one of those times. I’m mobile once again but still taking it easy.

Today I pulled the card out of the camera, stuck it in the reader on my new laptop and downloaded a few images captured while making a few short trips to town lately. These are a few that I thought were worth posting.

IMG_8746

The flocks of geese on two nearby ponds wintered over but that didn’t stop them from practicing formation flying. I think this gaggle needs more practice forming a V.

IMG_8768

This horse seems a brighter shade of red each time I see it…..or it might be the meds…..my meds, not the horses.

IMG_8782

I’ve shot this old place several times over the past couple of years. It must have been a grand home at one time..

IMG_8788

If only walls could talk this place would have some tales to tell.

IMG_8835

I spent several minutes waiting for this guy to wander across the road. He finally got out of my way just as I was beginning to think he’d look good in my kitchen……fried!

IMG_8847

You have just been mooned.

IMG_8884

Another tasty bird who wandered out in front of me. He’s lucky I opted for shooting him with a camera when my belly was growling handgun was close by.

IMG_8902

Speaking of bellies; Buddy is beginning to get downright chubby! He actually waddles when he’s “leading” one of us around the house.

IMG_8905

I originally thought he enjoyed rolling in the snow. We now know that he enjoys rolling around, snow or no snow! That dog is a clown!

7 responses

  1. What a great snap shot: Buddy beats them all! 😀
    (hope you get well soon! of course)

    February 23, 2011 at 12:29 PM

  2. Fizz

    I’m exactly like that!! I totally over do it… most especially on days when I’m feeling good…

    LOVE the photo of the pooch doing the rolling around… what a big goof!!

    February 23, 2011 at 3:12 PM

  3. Enjoyed all the photos! I always hate to see old houses in decline. They deserve better!

    February 23, 2011 at 7:39 PM

  4. I sure hope you recover from your back problem. Believe me I know exactly what you are going through. I can mess myself up just sewing an 18th cen. dress. I have been seeing a certified massage therapist at Carilion physical therapy who does this wonderful Swedish massage, and is having me doing these exercises to strength “my core.” I like those Thermapaq things that can be heated in the microwave. They’re reusable. They impart deep heat. I also apply Arnica gel. I don’t go anywhere without Arnica gel.

    That’s a lovely older home. Do you know the history on it?

    Your dog is really enjoying himself.

    February 23, 2011 at 11:26 PM

  5. Good to see you taking pic’s again,love the pic of the horse and the rooster,
    and your mate, well he one of a kind
    Take care and get well soon
    Sue

    February 24, 2011 at 4:06 AM

  6. Of course the best part of the above post is about your wife. “THE BOSS”….glad you understand that. :O) Hope your back mends. I loved the photos…It’s now 5:50 in the morning, so I can’t write any longer. :O) Jackie T. Lane

    February 24, 2011 at 4:50 AM

  7. Good to find my way back at last and soak up the dazzling photos! Hmm…that chestnut horse is definately RED chestnut! Little like young Buddy?! ;(

    February 24, 2011 at 11:35 AM

Leave a Reply

