The view from my perch on the mountain

First Impressions

The guy in the large brown truck FINALLY arrived about 10 minutes after I had given up on him and headed for town. I think what actually happened was that Frankie called him and told him it was safe to deliver my new laptop……that I was gone and didn’t have a gun or 3 with me when I left. I can’t wait until he shows up tomorrow with the next box that I ordered (Ain’t package tracking great?) I’ll bet he has a stroke lugging that box up to my porch and the icing on the cake will be my devilish grin when I tell him to be careful with that case of ammunition he’s toting!

Anywho, Elmo 8.0 is here and I’m playing with it to see what all the buttons do. Now for some first impressions:

  • This Toshiba laptop with the high definition 17.3 inch screen is HUGE compared to my old machine! I love the graphics!
  • I ordered 8 Gb of RAM and this thing smokes!
  • The keyboard will take some getting used to and the key response isn’t what I’m used to but I shall endeavor to persevere. The numeric keypad on the right side is nice to have.
  • I ordered a wireless laser trackball and I LOVE it but have a feeling I may be walking around with a sprained thumb before long.
  • Windows 7…….I’ll get used to it before long but I do have one major gripe. Those thick headed trolls at Microshaft have decided that you’ll either use Windows Live Mail or pay $50 for a copy of Outlook! I don’t even have a Live or Hotmail account anymore and even if I did it is incompatible with my main mail account so I’m stuck using web mail again……or at least until I can get in touch with my ISP tomorrow and have them tell me why I can’t make Thunderbird work.

Oh well…..tomorrow’s another day. Frankie has to get her head examined vision checked, I hope to get my new glasses while she’s being tortured examined and then we need to make a very large cash donation to Wal-Mart and Food lion in exchange for enough groceries to make the chest freezer, fridge and cabinets bulge. Laura has already been warned that we still have a key to her apartment and we may need to use some of her storage space as well.

Now….back to transferring files from Elmo 7.0 to Elmo 8.0.

7 responses

  1. Hi Chip
    Glad you got it at last, have fun playing with till it the way you want it to be.
    Hope the weather being good to you,
    Take care
    Sue

    February 16, 2011 at 2:42 AM

  2. Hoorah for Elmo 8! Crossed fingers he lasts a bit better than 7 did.

    Hope the new glasses are working? Mine are great.

    February 16, 2011 at 6:59 AM

    • You’ll never guess what happened. Went in to pick up my new lenses and they’d been sent back to the lab AGAIN! This time they arrived without the anti-glare coating. They should be back “in a few days”. I think they should throw in a free pair of prescription shades for all the aggravation I’ve been through!

      February 16, 2011 at 11:56 AM

  3. Dood… what’s up with your luck on lenses? What the hell is wrong with those people in the eye glass place? I mean, can’t they call you and let you know what happened?????

    February 16, 2011 at 9:37 PM

    • Juli, That would require the ability to use a phone when they were NOT driving and that’s too much to ask. The work ethic locally leaves an awful lot to be desired.

      February 16, 2011 at 10:28 PM

  4. Like a kid, I didn’t read much, but I looked at the pictures. Love ’em!

    February 19, 2011 at 2:47 AM

  5. Joe

    What a great blog! I was laughing just reading some of your posts! I love your style of writing!
    I also have a Toshiba laptop with Windows 7 on it. But I only have 4 GB of RAM so I’m just a tad jealous!!…

    February 20, 2011 at 11:02 AM

Leave a Reply

