The view from my perch on the mountain

A Few Birds

We’ve had several days of nice weather recently and I have a bad case Spring Fever but winter isn’t done with us yet. The remnants of the latest storm to hammer the center of the country are moving in on us. We’re only supposed to get a couple of inches of snow out of this one but I’ve already had enough. My aching bones can do without the low pressure that accompanies bad weather.

IMG_8317

The birds were mobbing the feeders this afternoon, always a more accurate predictor of bad weather than the meteorologists with their high tech equipment. The birds were so intent on getting their fill that I managed to get a few nice shots as they landed within just a few feet of my position just inside the shed door.

IMG_8269

This Tufted Titmouse paused for a moment or two at my eye level. I was lucky to get a few clear frames of him because these little guys are speed demons!

IMG_8281

The Northern Cardinals were more cautious so I used my long lens to get a few frames of them perched in the upper branches. Even though the female’s plumage (above) isn’t as brilliant as the male (below) I still think she’s a beautiful bird.

IMG_8315

 

IMG_8367

Carolina Chickadees are always the first to arrive at the feeders and these tiny birds are fearless! We’ve watched them gang up on European Starlings to drive them away when they try to bully the smaller birds.

IMG_8325

IMG_8335

Just as I was packing up to go back indoors this male Downy Woodpecker showed up. He spotted me and made a beeline for the woods. After I went inside he showed up again along with another male and 3 females.

IMG_8348

The light was failing rapidly by this time and since I was watching them through the bedroom window I would be shooting through two panes of glass so I didn’t bother getting the camera out of the bag. There will be plenty of opportunities to shoot more woodpeckers as springs gets closer. It can’t happen soon enough to suit me!

5 responses

  1. Simply Beautiful 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 5:34 PM

  2. I love your bird photos.

    Bob Zeller

    February 9, 2011 at 6:12 PM

  3. im a bit envious that you can get these! the birds here are so spazzy, they dont sit long enought to get in focus ;S
    k☼

    February 9, 2011 at 6:57 PM

  4. Fizz

    Love the female Cardinal… she’s an understated beauty…

    February 10, 2011 at 8:29 AM

  5. love all your birds Chip, but both Male and Female Cardinal are beautiful just love the red colour on both of them, hope you get some more good weather
    Take care
    Sue

    February 10, 2011 at 8:53 AM

Leave a Reply

