The view from my perch on the mountain

This and That

IMG_8131

As one weather system was moving out, and the next has yet to arrive, today was actually sort of pleasant. There were even blue spots between some of the clouds and that bright thing in the sky was visible now and then.

IMG_8137

Budget constraints have put a damper on my roaming around the countryside lately but I filed our income taxes yesterday and was pleased to discover that will soon be a thing of the past……..for a while, at least. That horrible bellowing you no doubt heard yesterday afternoon was me wringing an incredible amount of money out of Uncle Sam, far more in fact that I could believe possible. So much so that I would like to take this opportunity to remind friends and family that smoking is no longer allowed in federal prisons so, rather that cartons of cigarettes I would ask that donations be made to my canteen fund should I find myself a guest of the government for a few years.

IMG_8142

Anyway, Buddy is still learning how to read a map so that explains the roundabout path I followed on the way to pick THE BOSS up from work this afternoon.

IMG_8143

He really blew it when he told me to take a right on Main Street instead of a left.

IMG_8149

Actually I think he just wanted to get a look at these critters in full sunlight. There’s something different about them but I don’t know what it is. Well, actually I do; both the cows and the bulls have horns and they’re shaped differently.

IMG_8152

Then there was this thing. Damned if I know what it is or was but it’s probably pretty old.

IMG_8157

By this time Buddy found his place on the map. Heading back towards town we got a decent look at Reed Creek thanks to the bare trees.The old bridge in the background has been posted against trespassing and it looks like an excellent place to break a leg. Guess I’ll have to go back and get a few more shots of it from a better angle. Maybe if I bet Walter a bottle of vodka that he can’t jump it on his motorcycle I can get some great action shots. He’ll never make it across with me shooting at him. I might even use the camera for a few shots..

IMG_8170

I’ve heard trains using this line, seen trains stopped on either side of the crossing and even seen a rail maintenance crew driving a modified truck along this line but, despite using this crossing at least a couple of hundred times I’ve never had to wait for a train to go by. This is why I feel comfortable stopping right in the middle of the crossing and firing off a few frames. Now that I’ve said that I’ll probably never get across again without waiting for a train!

8 responses

  1. Chip you are definitely going to have to get more shots of the old bridge. I love old bridges! I have no idea what that contraption is either but it’s cool nonetheless. What is it about old things that we find so intriguing? lol I’m old and I’m not intriguing at all. lol

    February 6, 2011 at 5:35 PM

  2. Roket Man

    Kimmy, I’m told we’re only as old as we feel. Physically I frequently feel like I’m 106 but inside my head I’m 11 forever. Let’s see 106 + 11 ……..11 carry the three, 4 quarts in a gallon, Pi R squa…..no that’s not right……pie are round; cornbread are square! Okay, all this math is giving me a headache so I’m going with 22 and holding!

    February 6, 2011 at 5:48 PM

  3. Chip, I’ll finally make a comment.
    I have always been here, but I’m so busy that is not giving in to leave a friendly word.
    Well, today I came to thank you about all the fabulous posts you have made.
    The nature through your lens is richer and more joyful.
    Thanks for sharing so much good things, so much life.
    I wish you luck and much love.
    A big kiss, honey.
    ^,^

    February 6, 2011 at 6:02 PM

    • Roket Man

      I aim to please, ma’am!

      February 6, 2011 at 9:09 PM

  4. Why don’t you have any snow?? You aren’t that far south of where I live! Nice views of the landscape!

    February 6, 2011 at 6:59 PM

  5. Linda, we sent our snow away for the weekend. It was actually warm enough today that I didn’t need a coat for the first time in several months! However, the weather guessers say the party’s over. We have a chance of freezing rain, sleet or snow tomorrow night, then a good chance of snow Wednesday and Thursday. I’m waiting for out tax refund to go through so I can afford enough gas to go to PA and shoot that damned groundhog!

    February 6, 2011 at 9:08 PM

  6. Great pictures!
    The “thing” looks like something with a fuel-tank and a simple drive, something to transport maybe grain onto a wagon, if put together again and added to something else missing here – it looks also as if there were connections to do so. And it looks pretty old, a thing to love a little bit 🙂

    February 7, 2011 at 10:47 AM

  7. I just want to mention I am all new to blogging and truly loved your blog. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You amazingly have exceptional writings. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website page.

    February 9, 2011 at 7:23 PM

Leave a Reply

