The view from my perch on the mountain

Out of the Mist

The weather has been cold and damp for the past couple of days keeping me close to home……and my meds, heating pad and Bertha, my La-Z-Boy recliner.

IMG_7960

Today the sun rising over the mountains was a welcome sight so I took the long way home after dropping THE BOSS off at work.

IMG_7971

You sometimes see the oddest things as the beams of sunlight cut through the mist and the trees.

IMG_7973

Buddy didn’t know what to make of this critter! I love the way this guy’s coat gleams in the morning sun.

IMG_7979

“What you lookin’ at?” The expression on Buddy’s face when he saw this said “What kind of dog is that?”

I need to start carrying my ladder on the roof rack of the truck. Apparently whoever owns this land thinks camels and llamas can jump like deer because that fence is at least 8 feet high! Even standing on the running board I still had to shoot through the chain link.

IMG_7984

There are usually several horses in this field but they weren’t around this morning. Neither was that HUGE whitetail buck I’ve spotted on several occasions. That deer sure is camera shy!

IMG_7995

The way the morning sun colors the rising fog and the trees along either side of the creek is deceptive. It’s really chilly out there, especially with the howling winds bringing the next blast of Arctic air down upon us. At least we’re not getting buried in snow the way most of the country is…..so far. Winter ain’t over yet!

9 responses

  1. Great photos… rolling black outs here as the state of texas has to deal with the cold weather… hysterical, they can handle multiple days of over 100’s in July, but cannot handle a 28 degree day…

    February 2, 2011 at 2:37 PM

    • Layered clothing, some of it fleece, heavy socks and keep repeating “At least we’re not in Milwaukee!”

      February 2, 2011 at 7:19 PM

  2. loving the llama and camel pics and I recall my little whippet barking in a most alarmed fashion at a horse, you could almost hear the “what on earth is that!” from her 🙂

    February 2, 2011 at 5:19 PM

    • I can picture it perfectly! Sam looked at his first llama with an expression that said “I don’t know what kind of dog you are but please tell me what you did to deserve that hair cut so I can make sure I never make the same mistake!”

      February 2, 2011 at 7:21 PM

  3. Gosh, I have to say even though I live in Virginia like you do, Chip, I’ve just never seen a camel or a llama around my back yard. I might even bark myself!
    LOVE that last shot!

    February 2, 2011 at 6:57 PM

    • No problem, Jenny; we’ll go out and round up a couple llamas, an emu, a camel, a few zebras and maybe even a Sasquatch and drop ’em off in your backyard on our next trip home. And before you ask, yes, all of those critters can be found in local pastures, except for the Sasquatch. I’ll have to set up a cage trap outside WalMart around the 1st of the month to catch one of them. Do you want yours with or without hair curlers and fuzzy slippers?

      February 2, 2011 at 7:26 PM

  4. ah you have the coolest kinds of mist and fog …
    i like the way you shot the llama in the first pic, with the fence in focus. i read somewhere ‘there are no boring subjects. only boring ways of photgraphing them.’
    i enjoyed the set!
    k☼

    February 3, 2011 at 8:52 AM

  5. Fantastic photo’s Chip… love the colours and the mist rolling over the river.. had to do a double take on the camel and llama though… !

    February 4, 2011 at 7:49 AM

  6. Kevin

    That seems like an awful lot of NOT snow in them there pictures! What a difference a few days can make!

    February 5, 2011 at 7:58 PM

Leave a Reply

