The view from my perch on the mountain

This does not compute

Last night I was happily surfing the web, half watching TV and scratching the dog’s head from time to time when Murphy’s Law (what ever can go wrong will go wrong) reached up and smacked me right between the eyes. My laptop crashed and crashed hard!

After rebooting in Safe Mode, only to have the machine crash again before Windows finished loading, 3 times, I dug out the installation CD and set about the task of wiping my hard drive and doing a full re-install.

Thank God my external hard drive came with software that includes an automatic back up feature. I recently changed the settings for the back up operation which is now set to run every Friday evening while I’m yelling at the news readers on the idiot box. All I have to do is connect the drive and everything else is done for me.

At 3:00 AM Windows finally finished installing and I was too bleary eyed to do anything else so I gave up and went to bed. So far I have re-installed Microsoft Office and, as I type Windows Update is downloading the 1.61 GB of updates it says I need. Once that is completed I’ll connect the portable hard drive and restore the files I lost in the crash.

Hopefully, sometime today everything will be hunky dorey and I can get back to terrorizing the web. The operational word here is HOPEFULLY! We shall see……

7 responses

  1. Oh, my God! I’m impressed with the speed of your posts. I have always been here, because I get upgrade via email. But I don’t give account to comment at all. Ahahahaha
    I love your photos, especially those that you take the window. The nature through your lens is wonderful.
    Keep writing, you do so well!
    Cheers.
    A big hug.
    Kisses.

    January 29, 2011 at 4:04 PM

    • Roket Man

      Thanks, Teca!

      January 29, 2011 at 10:26 PM

  2. Chip,
    I hope your up and running again soon
    Take care
    Sue

    January 29, 2011 at 5:35 PM

    • Roket Man

      Still downloading service packs. Hope to be finished some time tomorrow but I’m not counting on it!

      January 29, 2011 at 10:26 PM

  3. Lord, Chip, I know what you’re going through. Not fun at all. Have you ck’d into any of Seagate’s products? As in their external drives. I’ve had a number of externals and theirs is by far the best and so simple to use it’s incredible. I’ve got 4 of them now and never had even a dot of problem with them. Check them out. I’m a die-hard fan now.

    January 29, 2011 at 7:24 PM

    • Roket Man

      I got two 500 GB Western Digital portable hard drives for Christmas 2009, the result of a mix up between the gift givers but I didn’t complain. I love ’em because they’re small, easy to use and just about idiot proof. The one I’m using for photos has everything I’ve shot in the past 2 years, over 40,000 images and the other is my backup drive. Both have tons of room left on them so by the time I need a new one I’ll probably be able to get a 10 TB drive for the price of one of these. Either way, I’m set for a while!

      January 29, 2011 at 10:25 PM

  4. A man after my own heart Chip, I think I’d freak if my computer crashed and I didn’t have my external HD with all my precious photos and memories plus paintings on there, hope you’re soon fully functioning soon. Take care, and not too many late nights or should I say early mornings.

    January 30, 2011 at 4:59 PM

Leave a Reply

