The view from my perch on the mountain

Now and Then

  IMG_6431 IMG_6439

Our trip to town this morning was made under gray skies but the temperatures were relatively mild. An occasional rain shower and buds on the trees brought a taste of things to come with Spring just a couple of months away.

IMG_6429

The trees bearing these buds are just across the street from the little cabin I blogged about earlier.

IMG_6448

We’ve yet to learn any more about it’s history but I did get a few more shots of it today in between the showers.

IMG_6455

Though the crude curtains in the windows give the illusion that someone has made the effort to preserve this old building the gaping door and rubbish piled inside attest to it’s neglect.

IMG_6470

I can’t help but wonder what boots crossed this threshold and what stories lie buried within these mud chinked log walls.

Frankie came up with a great idea today. On her next day off we’re going to pay a visit to the County Historical Society and see what we can discover about this cabin. It’s located behind some restored Civil War era buildings which we will research as well.

I have a feeling that this will lead to a few blogs dealing with the history of the town, the county and the region. Frankie and I are both history buffs and she’s a budding photographer so I may even be able to get her interested in a blog of her own. We shall see …….

8 responses

  1. these old buildings touch emotionally – a good idea to find some informations about their local history, and please-please: share! I love that kind of “micro-history”. 🙂

    January 19, 2011 at 1:56 PM

    • Roket Man

      You can be sure I will. Heide. When I first started dabbling with a WordPress blog in 2009 I was thinking about writing about Virginia History but I got side tracked by something else. Maybe I’ll take this site in that direction and use my Blogger page for photography. Hmmm……

      January 19, 2011 at 2:12 PM

  2. Fizz

    I just love history!!

    January 19, 2011 at 2:08 PM

    • Roket Man

      Me, too, and Virginia is rife with history!

      January 19, 2011 at 2:13 PM

  3. That should be interesting Chip, do keep us informed on what you find out.
    Like the pics, and yes I think things are starting to wake up , ever so slightly though

    January 19, 2011 at 2:59 PM

  4. Lovely post and no snow…. and Buds. Wow Love them. Just love them.
    I have four feet of snow that blew in parts of my yard. I wont see anything for months.
    Im going to die. ha.

    January 19, 2011 at 6:10 PM

  5. Really interesting, Chip. I am absolutely nuts over that last photo. Holy cow, I could do a painting of that!

    January 19, 2011 at 7:03 PM

  6. Love your little Cabin, am waiting to read more about it,
    all the pic’s are great but the last one make you want just go look inside
    Hope all is well with you all
    Take care
    Sue

    January 20, 2011 at 7:32 AM

Leave a Reply

