The view from my perch on the mountain

Wouldn’t you know it?

Hey, folks; Buddy here, filling in for Daddy. It looks like taking the Blog A Day challenge has thrown the old guy into brain lock …… again. Momma said the doctors warned him about trying to think too much. Since it doesn’t look like he’s going to do anything productive today I guess it’s up to me to step in and save the day……as usual. This is how my morning went.

IMG_6317

The first order of business was to have a good look around my yard to make sure everything was just as it should be.

IMG_6318

“Just as I suspected…….there be katz here!”

IMG_6324

“Attention all katz…….stay out of my yard! Momma doesn’t like you hanging out in her flower beds, digging things up, leaving “presents” and trying to eat the burdz. Y’all better git before she comes home and breaks out her air rifle!”

IMG_6327

Back in the house I led the old guy to his chair, then I gave him “the treatment”.

“You are getting sleepy, very sleepy. All the tensions are flowing away. You are also feeling very generous. Before you nod off get up and fix Buddy a sammich .”

IMG_6335

“Hey, wake up! You forgot to get my sammich!”

IMG_6336

“That’s better!”

IMG_6330

“Okay, you can go back to sleep now. Take a nap until it’s time to go get Momma. I’ll keep the katz away and I’ll let you know when I need another sammich.”

Just one more thing before I go. Momma, Daddy and Laura rescued me from the local animal shelter. I’m very happy now because it was a scary place! There are many more animals in shelters all over still waiting for someone to give them a forever home just like I have.

Please take a minute and click on the logo below. It will take you to a great page where you can help feed those animals in the shelter for free. Just answer the question of the day and 20 pieces of kibble will be donated whether you get the correct answer or not. You might even learn something!

logo-yumyum2

You can also take a quiz to help feed shelter katz. They’re hungry and looking for a forever home too.

15 responses

  1. GREAT post, Buddy! Who taught you to type like that? I hope you post more….and so do Sam & Lucy. They’ll forgive you if you give them a nice slurppy kiss on the noses. They NEVER go out so they don’t kill burdz, they just watch from windows and dream of all the thanksgivings they could be having.
    I’m going to click your freekibble.com link and then add one to the cats’ blog. GREAT thing to know. Thanks for that 😀

    January 15, 2011 at 1:50 PM

  2. you clever boy, Buddy!

    January 15, 2011 at 1:54 PM

  3. You are so talented Buddy, what a great boy you are. I am very pleased that you found such a lovely home to take over as your very own.

    January 15, 2011 at 2:51 PM

  4. Well Buddy, it looks like you’re fitting in well in this household…it’s a tough job looking after Chip LOL and I’m glad you’re there to do it.

    January 15, 2011 at 3:44 PM

  5. You’re not kidding anyone Buddy. I know what typing/blogging with brain freeze looks like. Bark, bark, howl my posterior. Great shots of Buddy, you ole dog.

    January 15, 2011 at 4:08 PM

  6. Roket Man

    J! I’m not that kind of dawg!

    January 15, 2011 at 4:14 PM

  7. Pam

    Nice post Buddy! We had a golden retriever named Buddy while the girls were growing up–he was AWESOME! And so are you Buddy!

    January 15, 2011 at 4:26 PM

  8. Hope

    Buddy, you are so handsome.. and what a great friend you have turned out to be to your new family.. continue to take good care of them.. you are indeed a rare treasure..

    January 15, 2011 at 4:34 PM

  9. Fizz

    Well done buddy!!! Keep up the great work… bathe of you.

    January 15, 2011 at 7:14 PM

  10. Well done Buddy,i love the pic of you, i see your getting your family well trained
    in what you need then to do for you, keep up the good work
    Take care
    Sue

    January 16, 2011 at 1:35 AM

  11. Hi Buddy, Tango here I’m filling in for my mamma here, and just want to tell you that you’re a guy after my own heart, I like to keep our garden clear of these evil catz, the ones that leave presents, dig the flower beds and upset the birdz, all the others are OK, but when your Mama’s finished with that rifle pass it over as my mama would like to stash it full of zingy things and shoot the catz up the backside, not to hurt them too bad though, and while I think of it, I fancy a sammich too, so i’d best get the old gal on her feet and get cracking. Take care of your Daddy now.

    January 16, 2011 at 4:54 PM

  12. Nice post Buddy.. lovely to meet you and all that. I think you’re doing a grand job of keeping Chip out of trouble I mean looking after Chip.

    January 17, 2011 at 11:36 AM

  13. Sue A. Lehman

    Love the pics of Buddy! What a handsome boy. How’s he doing with the harness? It’s so hard to train dogs NOT to pull all the time.

    January 17, 2011 at 12:20 PM

    • Roket Man

      Sue, he’s doing real well with the harness and you’re absolutely right about my using it to train him not to pull. He’s still a pup and, while highly intelligent and eager to learn, he’s also very enthusiastic so he needs reinforcement as he learns voice commands while on his lead. Most of the time all it takes is a light tug and a little verbal reminder from me to keep him from pulling but if he spots another dog, a cat or a squirrel he wants to run. He’s incredibly strong and, with my bad back and legs, could easily pull me off my feet and I’d be in real trouble if that happened when we were off exploring on our own and there was nobody around to help me if I needed it.

      The harness is also getting him used to having straps around his torso which will make the transition to his day packs easier. They are similar to saddle bags and he’ll soon be carrying his own food, water, first aid kit, etc. when we are out exploring some of the many hiking paths within a short drive.

      January 17, 2011 at 12:56 PM

  14. You’re doing an awesome job on that PC Buddy! Magic in those paws 🙂 You are so handsome and loveable nobody could resist giving you a sammich lol not with a close up expression like you managed to produce here!

    January 17, 2011 at 12:40 PM

Leave a Reply

