The view from my perch on the mountain

And so it begins……

Having accepted the WordPress Daily Post Challenge I found myself wondering whether to use one of the suggested topics provided by the forum or just try to wing it. The need for a trip to town, an itchy shutter button finger, clear blue skies and sunshine outside my window this morning made the choice easy today……the feathered option won.

Now, what to write about?

IMG_6076

The Mallards in a stock pond down the road?

IMG_6228

Maybe Mr.Cardinal peering in the window when we returned home, wondering if we were going to re-stock the feeders.

IMG_6230

 

IMG_6057

The Red Bellied Woodpecker, who has recently discovered our feeders,  was nearby, working on a suet cake.

IMG_6059

 

IMG_6134

Then there are the bossy Blue Jays who always find a bounty of spilled seed under the feeders

IMG_6147

 

IMG_6131

Perhaps the Dark Eyed Juncos, recent additions to the daily menagerie in and around Burd Town?

IMG_6254

I can always count on the Sparrows for a visit and sometimes one will hold still long enough for a clear shot. More often than not my Sparrow shots are nothing but a blur of wings flitting through the branches.

IMG_6172

Always on hand to watch us fill the feeders, and to sample the new seed, are the Titmice.

IMG_6235

 

IMG_6246

Decisions, decisions……….. Oh, yes; before I wander off I have to admit that I’m no authority on birds so some of my identifications may not always be accurate. This is where the Internet comes in very handy:

All About Birds Cornell University Lab of Ornithology

enature.com

National Geographic Backyard Birding

Peterson’s Field Guides

VirginiaOutdoors.com

Wild birds Unlimited

13 responses

  1. Super shots Chip ,the sparrow did stay still long enough. and you’ve made a good daily blog start. And by the amount of bird seed in the feeders, they’re very lucky birds.

    January 14, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    • Roket Man

      We usually go through about 100 lbs of seed, a dozen suet cakes and a couple of thistle socks per month during the winter, Arlene. In the summer, when there’s plenty of natural food available, not buried under snow, we cut back but the birds still flock to the yard. Some spring mornings there are so many singing in that tree that I expect it to lift off under hundreds of little wings!

      January 14, 2011 at 6:12 PM

  2. Morning Chip
    I never get tired of looking at your beautiful birds, they are so different from what i see here , so small and so beautiful
    Great pic’s
    Hope you are felling much better
    Take care
    sue

    January 14, 2011 at 5:30 PM

    • Roket Man

      I’m doing much better, Sue! Now to take advantage of each window of opportunity to get some shooting done. More winter weather is yet to come so I have to make every minute count!

      January 14, 2011 at 6:13 PM

  3. What a photographic treat! Your birds are awesome and the Red Cardinal!!! Beautiful subject for photos and I can’t get over how red they are 🙂 It has to be my all time favourite to date….your Blue Jay reminds me slightly of an over-sized…well…lol…ok very over-sized Blue Tit! They’re tiny little birds this side of the pond but remarkably agile and one of the more colourful varieties 🙂 My mum and dad would totally love your bird photos…they love watching the birds that grace their version of Burd Town but they’re no comparison in brightness for yours!

    January 14, 2011 at 5:58 PM

    • Roket Man

      Wolfie, your Blue Tit sounds a lot like our Tufted Titmouse which is quite small and very fast. If I don’t jack the shutter speed way up all I get are blurs, much like the Sparrows. That said, Chickadees make both species seem like slow pokes. There was one sitting on a branch about 2 feet from my face while I was filling the feeders. The entire time it kept a close eye on me, chirping away, to make sure I did the job correctly!

      January 14, 2011 at 6:17 PM

  4. So far so good. Well done. I won’t take the challenge, but that does remind me that I need to write a blog.

    January 14, 2011 at 6:50 PM

    • Roket Man

      WOO-HOO! That’s 1!

      January 14, 2011 at 7:12 PM

  5. I have no idea if you’re an expert on birds, but your photos make me amazed. The birds that you shoot are beautiful, lovely, expressive …
    Thanks for sharing all this with us.
    I wish you luck and happiness in this new venture.
    A kiss and wishes for a great weekend.

    January 14, 2011 at 7:16 PM

  6. Great shots, Chip, but I could have SWORN that the cardinal in the 2nd shot was saying, “WooshYouTalkin’About,Willis”

    January 14, 2011 at 10:17 PM

    • Roket Man

      More like “Put that thing down and feed the burdz!”

      January 14, 2011 at 11:07 PM

  7. penelopephoebe

    Fantastic photographs, Chip. Your birds are truly lucky!

    January 15, 2011 at 1:53 AM

  8. We have sparrows in our garden 🙂 but not for long as the cats seem to discourage any birdy visitors!

    January 16, 2011 at 5:38 AM

Leave a Reply

