The view from my perch on the mountain

Woodpeckers from my window

When the weather keeps me indoors I frequently turn my camera towards Burd Town, my wife Frankie’s collection of feeders hanging in the maple tree outside our bedroom window.

IMG_5974

Today I had no sooner picked up the camera than this Red Bellied Woodpecker landed on a feeder no more than 15 feet from where I sat.

IMG_6004

He even worked his way around the feeder to allow me to get a shot demonstrating where the name comes from. The 55-250MM image stabilized lens I was using really brought him in!

IMG_6043 

Just as I was about to get up this male Downy Woodpecker zoomed in to one of the other feeders. The male of the species has a red blaze on the head while the females don’t.

IMG_6044

I’m still trying to capture a clear shot of a female but they are not only fast, they don’t hang around long, either. With more winter weather in the long range forecast for next week I’m sure I’ll get an opportunity.

14 responses

  1. Beautiful shots!

    January 13, 2011 at 2:18 PM

  2. so amazing and beautiful, each one of them! I like the one with the glowing red eyes.

    January 13, 2011 at 2:21 PM

  3. Fantastic shots Chip, almost worth having to stay in for.

    January 13, 2011 at 2:37 PM

  4. Nice ones!! Two different Varieties!! Great catch…. you’ve got the touch.

    January 13, 2011 at 2:42 PM

  5. What awesome captures!

    January 13, 2011 at 2:50 PM

  6. What wonderful pictures of the woodpecker!

    January 13, 2011 at 7:37 PM

  7. Wonderful pic’s, your birds are beautiful,more people show see your photo’s as they are just so good
    Take care
    Sue

    January 13, 2011 at 9:57 PM

  8. These are great shots , each and everyone of them. The lighting, and detail is fantastic. Love the catcheye in these shots. Your photos are Beautiful. Great work , Chip. 🙂

    January 13, 2011 at 11:06 PM

  9. Wow, such stunning shots ….

    January 14, 2011 at 4:24 AM

  10. Lovely shots Chip!

    January 14, 2011 at 8:16 AM

  11. Awesome photos! I’m viewing them on a PC screen as opposed to widescreen laptop and they are huge!! Colours are wonderful and those woodpeckers! Beautiful 🙂

    January 14, 2011 at 11:47 AM

  12. Nice shots Chip! I’ve tried some bird shots but I really need a larger lens to get in close. Of course that wouldn’t help much. All I would get is closeups of squirrel butts.

    January 14, 2011 at 7:01 PM

    • J!! Ixnay on the uirrelsquay uttbays……Simon is liable to see that and you know what they say about Brit bus drivers. I tell my brother, Squirrelboy, that the reason he always has so many of the critters hanging around is because they think he’s nuts…..and he is!

      January 14, 2011 at 7:12 PM

      • Gawd! They maybe think I’m nuts too. I’m sleeping in a cup tonight.

        January 14, 2011 at 7:16 PM

Leave a Reply

