The view from my perch on the mountain

2010 in review

This was a surprise. I opened my inbox this morning and found the following message from WordPress.com , complete with a Post this summary to my blog button so I clicked it and what you see is what I got. I never would have guessed that this site had accumulated this many hits in the short time I’ve had it up and running. It seems like just yesterday that I shut down my WLS site and started blogging here and on Blogger!

I’d like to thank each and every one of you for following my blogs and putting up with my intermittent rants, raves and occasional bouts of insanity. I promise to make every effort to bring you more of the same in the future. You have been warned 🙂

 

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 3,000 times in 2010. That’s about 7 full 747s.

 

In 2010, there were 94 new posts, not bad for the first year!

The busiest day of the year was December 3rd with 85 views. The most popular post that day was Addition to the family.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were networkedblogs.com, mail.live.com, facebook.com, wordpress.com, and blogger.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for jingeorgia.wordpress.com, funny turkeys, pine ridge physolipher, sunrise october 4 2010, and http://www.heatwave entertainment.com.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Addition to the family December 2010
17 comments and 5 Likes on WordPress.com

2

My buddy November 2010
23 comments

3

Sunset On The Rocks June 2010
8 comments

4

Sam’s Story June 2010
13 comments

5

Down on Main Street November 2010
15 comments

6 responses

  1. wishing you and your blogging another healthy year 🙂

    January 2, 2011 at 8:25 AM

  2. Wow, Chip! Who’da thunk you wuz this popular? I would, that’s who!! Always love reading you…on all fronts, even when you’re ranting yet again…keep it up my friend…must have been a HUGE boost to the old morale to find this pop up on your site…congaratulations!..people love you, didn’t you know? Keep writing and we’ll keep reading!

    January 2, 2011 at 9:58 AM

  3. congratulations! but im not surprized …
    k☼

    January 2, 2011 at 2:27 PM

  4. Just goes to show ya, you can’t keep a good man — or his dog — down. I agree with everyone else, I wouldn’t miss your pages for the world 😀

    January 2, 2011 at 5:25 PM

  5. Congratulations! Happy New Year! 🙂

    January 2, 2011 at 7:15 PM

  6. Chip, you are the most consistent blogger (like real person) I know whose not “commercial” or blogs for an entity, meaning for bucks. I’m not at all surprised that your stats hit an all time record. You just wait, 2011 will bring you even more hits and popularity. Congrats!

    Hugs,

    Jeanne

    January 3, 2011 at 4:33 PM

Leave a Reply

