The view from my perch on the mountain

Burdtown on a winter morning

Yes, I’m well aware that winter doesn’t officially begin until December 21st but, when standing in 4 inches of snow while my wild child Lab pup runs amok in the 16°F (-9°C) air, that’s close enough for me. In between gales of laughter at Buddy’s antics I managed to capture a few burdz in the tree overhead and thought I would share.

IMG_4742 IMG_4783

Downy woodpeckers, female on the left and male on the right.

IMG_4793

Another male keeping a lookout from the upper branches.

IMG_4760

Eastern Towhee

IMG_4773

Tufted Tit mouse, above and below

IMG_4774

With the leaves off the trees and frigid winter temperatures the burdz are more numerous and easier to see. The number of species visiting Frankie’s feeders also increase. If you like burdz stay tuned.

7 responses

  1. jennyd412

    Oh yeah, my feeders are being bombarded now; and I have to redo the birdbaths at least 3 times a day because they freeze over so quickly. Today, after redoing one of them, I’d no sooner gotten back into the house that I turned around and saw 2 birds actually bathing. BATHING! And it was freezing outside! In the other birdbath that I hadn’t redone yet, there was a Blue Jay almost breaking his beak off trying to break through the ice to get to the water. He didn’t realize it was solid. I ran him off so that I wouldn’t have a body to contend with and fixed that birdbath, too. Within seconds he was back with his mate and they were drinking like there was no tomorrow. Yeah, it’s going to be a tough winter on birds I think.

    December 10, 2010 at 12:17 AM

    • Ah Jenny, you’re a girl after my own heart, I’m often out first thing after feeding the dogs and still in my dressing gown making sure the birds get their commons and sort out the water, they cost me as much as the dogs do, but I don’t grudge it. and I don’t expect you, Frankie and Chip do.Do you reckon we’ll get wings with feathers when we’re made into angels?

      December 10, 2010 at 3:25 PM

  2. The Eastern Towhee-pic is one for love at 2nd sight, ’cause of it’s delicate colours, but from these all-amazing images, I like it best.

    December 10, 2010 at 3:58 AM

  3. Those titmouses are soooo cute! They look like little cartoony birds. Glad Buddy is making you smile—it’s amazing how much energy young dogs have…

    December 10, 2010 at 9:57 AM

  4. I was about to comment that you can see the birdz easily in winter when the trees are bare Chip, but you said it for me, so not much more to say except lovely pics as usuall and it’s nice to see different species, I’ve got a blog to write about my bird find, but I’m trying to be fair and catch up with every one else’s blogs and make comment.

    December 10, 2010 at 3:21 PM

  5. Tuned in! … and I do hope you’re educating Buddy in the ways of Wolfie!! 🙂

    December 11, 2010 at 1:57 PM

    • Roket Man

      Yes, I am, Wolfie but we had a little glitch today. I’d estimate Buddy to be about a year old or so but he’s still a pup even if he is quite large. I’ve a feeling he never had a lot of attention or training and I’ve been working with him on a lead. He was doing quite well until he spotted a cat while we were out walking today. He backed out of his collar and took off in hot pursuit. He ignored me calling and whistling and it took me about 10 minutes to get him to come back. He’s wearing a brand new training harness and will have to earn the right to take it off. Besides, while we travel he’ll need the harness to attach to the seat belt system so he won’t get hurt if I have to stop short for an idiot.

      December 11, 2010 at 6:23 PM

Leave a Reply

