The view from my perch on the mountain

My Little Chickadee

Despite the bright sunshine it is frigid out in Burd Town today!

IMG_4685

This little guy didn’t seem to mind the cold.

IMG_4697

He didn’t seem to mind me standing so close, either. These were all shot hand held while standing under the tree the feeders hang from.

IMG_4702

He seemed content to wait for us to fill the feeders while he perched on a branch and supervised.

IMG_4663

And, of course, Buddy was by my side, on the lookout for marauding kitty cats. The stray cats infesting our neighborhood got a rude surprise when Buddy moved in. Like Sam, he has that “soft” mouth Labs are famous for so I really doubt that he’d hurt any cat he caught but he sure loves chasing them out of the flower beds and away from the feeders.

The surprise for the cats was Buddy’s speed. He is not only larger and more muscular than Sam was; he’s a LOT faster! When he first spotted a pair of cats staking out the feeders from the flower beds he let out a little whoof and the cats turned to give him a “we know how long that lead is and how long it takes a dog to get here” look.

Then he launched off the porch and was on them in the blink of an eye!

I haven’t seen any cats in the yard since. smile_angel

7 responses

  1. Rocket, Your photographs of birds are always so beautiful. I’ve been a birdwatcher for many years and I love seeing the details up close and personal.! X

    December 8, 2010 at 3:24 PM

  2. Lol, oh I would love to see Buddy giving the haughty cats a surprise 🙂 fantastic pics again Chip xx

    December 8, 2010 at 3:53 PM

  3. sweet little chickadees, wonderful pictures and an extra-applause to Buddy!

    December 8, 2010 at 4:07 PM

  4. Kim

    Chip your Chickadees have some cousins here and they’ve been chirping about ever since I got home from work. I just love hearing those little unmistakable Chickadee sounds! Buddy is proving to be quite the heartthrob. 😉

    December 8, 2010 at 5:06 PM

  5. Buddy is a cheeky rascal lol 😉 Like his dad!! I totally love your Chickadees…lovely cute little birds and fantastic pics 🙂 I really must hop over to your blogger page too but it’s finding time!

    December 8, 2010 at 7:15 PM

  6. Amazing shots. Love them Chip.
    I did some also but have even had the time to download them.I know for a fact they will never be this good.
    Awesome.

    December 9, 2010 at 9:01 AM

  7. Can I borrow Buddy to chase the cats off my patch, his mouth might be soft, but I bet his teeth aint.! Loved the chikadee as you call it, Looks like a bearded tit from here. lovely pics, though your birds are a bit bolder than ours, I can’t get that close.

    December 10, 2010 at 4:05 PM

Leave a Reply

