The view from my perch on the mountain

Random Winter Shots

Reposted from my Blogger page.

IMG_4578

The view through the windshield while Buddy and I waited for Frankie to get off work Sunday. Yes, it is snowing in this shot but that pile of snow is not on Godzilla’s hood. It’s what the plows left in front of my parking space. Keep in mind the top of Godzilla’s hood is nearly 5 feet off the ground.

IMG_4627

While Buddy and I were out investigating the yard yesterday this Titmouse landed just a few feet away from me. I could almost reach out and touch him.

IMG_4591

I shot this Pine Siskin from the open door of the shed as I was putting out some seed for the Mourning Doves. The doves feed almost exclusively on the ground. Usually they find plenty to eat, seed spilled from the feeders by the smaller birds, but it’s buried under about 6 inches of snow now.

IMG_4609

Buddy is following in Sam’s foot paw prints. The first thing he does when we put him on his overhead lead is head straight for the flower beds in search of trespassing felines.

IMG_4617

“There be kitty cat tracks here!” As I type Buddy is crashed out at my feet but judging by the way all 4 paws are twitching and the tail is thumping on the carpet he is on the job even in his sleep!

IMG_4622

The view from the back yard, looking north.

IMG_4624

No picnics today unless you’re having ice cream sandwiches.

IMG_4648  Over the hill

That’s all I have for now. I hope to get some more today as Frankie gets off early but after checking the fridge and cupboards last night I discovered Wal-Mart needs some of our money so we’ll be fighting the crowds in the grocery section for a while. We still have snow showers blowing through and I do mean BLOWING! so I have no doubt that there will be a mob in the store buying up all the bred and milk.

13 responses

  1. Hi Chip 🙂
    Good to see Buddy’s settled in and keeping up the tradition.
    The view from my house was a bit like yours this morning! But oddly not a drop of the white stuff had landed here where I work.

    December 7, 2010 at 7:21 AM

    • Good morning, Eileen or I guess I should say good afternoon since you are 5 hours ahead. Buddy has taken command and is busy teaching Frankie how to play fetch, his way, when he’s not “helping” me in the kitchen. he’s still a pup and it’s like having a 3 year old running amok!

      December 7, 2010 at 7:32 AM

  2. great shots again – I like the titmouse with it’s funny little beard, the moment, you caught Buddy in action and the b&w-fence running over the hill.

    December 7, 2010 at 7:44 AM

  3. young Buddy looks thoroughly at home already I see 🙂 . Just looking at your snow makes me thankful for the amount we had, just fingers crossed that’s it for now!!! Hope there is still bnread and milk available 😉

    December 7, 2010 at 7:45 AM

  4. Juli

    Looks like Buddy is fitting right in and doing a good job… he sounds like he’s loyal and knows what a good deal he’s gotten!

    December 7, 2010 at 7:48 AM

  5. Sue Mac

    Well it look like Buddy to keeping the cat in line, even in his sleep
    now if you could send all that snow here, we would not need it to rain for months lol
    Take care
    Sue

    December 7, 2010 at 8:40 AM

  6. Good good.. has he learnt how to open your fridge yet?

    December 7, 2010 at 8:41 AM

    • Not quite but he does know the big white thing has cold food in it and the smaller white thing is where the hot food comes from. You can’t touch either one without him sticking his nose in to see what you’re up to.

      December 7, 2010 at 11:17 AM

  7. penelopephoebe

    Wow, you certainly caught up with us on the snow front. Those are some amazing photos. Buddy looks so happy to be out and about in it. Take care and wrap up warm. Brrrrr.

    December 7, 2010 at 9:47 AM

  8. What a super blog. I found you thanks to you following mine. Thank you too for that. Fantastic photo of the Titmouse and I absolutely love your dog Buddy. He looks bright. Reminds me of our old dog Bruce, a golden labrador – he was clever but greedy like you wouldn’t believe. Just off to follow you on networked Blogs or however I can.
    You’ve got more snow than us now – ours is melting.

    December 8, 2010 at 11:48 AM

  9. Buddy seems to be settling into the Wonderdog role like it was tailor made for him!

    December 8, 2010 at 5:22 PM

  10. Buddy is such a character 😉 He certainly seems to have made himself at home with you all and he is very loveable. He musty be loving all the great outdoors and the trips out…lucky dog!! 🙂

    December 8, 2010 at 7:18 PM

  11. love your ice cream sandwich.. and over the hill photos..
    not to mention the ones of Buddy. Looks very happy and content..
    we had quite the snow storm here as well.. came down fast and hard.. but the last two days a lot of it has melted .. now its just very icy..would rather have the snow..

    December 13, 2010 at 10:06 AM

Leave a Reply

