The view from my perch on the mountain

I’m still here

Just a few words to let my online family know that I didn’t forget about you. I’ve been trying to write this since yesterday so forgive me if I ramble.

My family appreciates your outpouring of sympathy and grief over Sam’s loss more than you could possibly imagine. The response we received when I let y’all know that he had been ill was heart warming but the reaction to his death from all of you was both heartwarming and astounding. Not having him in our lives is a little easier to bear with each new day but I just can’t focus on photography or writing. The words won’t come and nothing seems to look right through the viewfinder. There are still too many reminders of him in everything I do.

The girls and I sat down together and agreed that while no dog will ever be able to take Sam’s place he would be upset to see us grieving the way we are and that he wouldn’t mind having another dog in the family to help him watch over us. Anytime one of us was hurt, ill or upset he made it his mission to comfort and console us, almost as if he was trying to take our pain.

We’ve decided on adopting a rescue animal and have narrowed the field down to three, a year old red hound at an animal rescue facility in a neighboring county and two Labrador Retrievers, one yellow and approximately 3 years old and the other solid black and about a year old. Both of the latter are at the local animal shelter and will be available for adoption the end of the week if their owners haven’t claimed them. We visited the shelter to allow a dog to choose us, rather than the other way around. Both of those Labs acted just like our boy, trying to lick us to death while the tails wagged the entire dog. We have an appointment to meet Badger, the hound, Thursday morning, with the same goal in mind, to see if he chooses us. One way or the other we want to provide a loving forever home to a deserving animal.

If I don’t get another blog written between now and then you can be sure I’ll have some photos to post over the weekend to introduce everyone to our new family member. I wonder what he will think about becoming world famous overnight. Sam sure was! I also won’t be the least surprised if the new guy picks up some of Sam’s old tricks. We all still feel his presence in the house and it would be just like him to give the new kid a few pointers. I could swear I’ve heard his little “let’s go for a ride” whoof a couple of times and I’ve caught myself talking to him several times, as well. Both girls say they’ve caught glimpses of him at different times and Frankie felt him climb up on the bed to keep her back warm.

Once again, our most heartfelt thanks to all of you. Sue Mac is right when she says that friends are the family God lets you choose. I couldn’t have chosen any better.God bless each and every one of you.

12 responses

  1. Chip, what can I say,? I expressed my feelings on your other blog, and now reading this, I am feeling a bit better that you are being positive and realistic. To give some other poor lonely dog all the love that you had for Sam is a wonderful thing, and I’m sure it will help you get over Sam’s going, remember my little poem, A Special Place, ? well that’s where he is.
    I am going down the same road as you in adopting another dog, as I don’t want to be left with nothing when Tango goes, he’s 13 in a couple of months and I’ll be fortunate to get another two years from him, and well blessed if I get three. I am going on Thursday to see a bitch from and old friend of mine she is 8 years old and called Ruby, but I’ll pad that story out when i’ve been to see her.
    I’m sure I speak for all your friends in wishing you, and your family peace and hope for the future. Thanks for sharing Sam with us I enjoyed reading about him and I’m sure we’ll be entertained with tales of the new Allen addition and look forward to seeing some pictures.
    Sleep well SAm.
    If tears could build a stairway, and memories a lane, I’d walk right up to Heaven and bring you back again.

    November 30, 2010 at 5:55 PM

  2. Anne

    I am pleased you shall give another dog the chance of a good loving home, Sam won’t mind, he knows how special it will be for a lucky doggy.
    I am still a bit dazed at you losing Sam and have been paying Mo so much more attention and fuss.

    November 30, 2010 at 5:57 PM

  3. Way to go man! Bring ’em all three home.

    November 30, 2010 at 6:00 PM

  4. YESSIRRREEEEEEE, jingeorgia is right on the money! That’s the only answer and it’s sooooo right! Do it, Chip! Aren’t we all just the best of friends here? Oh yeahhh.

    November 30, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    • As I said in reply to your suggestion that we get 2 king size beds and shove them together to make room for all three dogs, Frankie advises there is no need for me to worry about over crowding because she would never make a dog sleep out in the shed with me.

      She just reminded me, again, that the state mental hospital in Marion is only 25 miles away and with the newly raised 70 MPH speed limit she can have me there in no more than 20 minutes, tops!

      November 30, 2010 at 7:13 PM

  5. Seems just the perfect kind of prospects.

    November 30, 2010 at 7:48 PM

  6. Sue Mac

    Oh I can see Sam smiling at the thought of you getting a new family member who will keep the those cat in line,
    Take care
    Sue

    November 30, 2010 at 9:47 PM

  7. Glad the pain is starting to ebb a little bit. A new rescue dog sounds fantastic, and how lucky is that dog going to be!
    Take care xXx

    December 1, 2010 at 4:04 AM

  8. Hi Chip
    Im so pleased you have all decided to get another dog 🙂 I wanted to say the best way to move on is to get another, but I know its not what you want to hear at the time, Sam will always be there with you ( I believe) both my dogs have a presence here and the one that is buried at the bottom of the garden has guided Murphy or new one, they are so alike. Im also thrilled you have chosen to rescue, all my dogs have been rescue, there is something very special about them, lol It made me laugh when you said you were going to let the dogs choose you, that is what happens, ( we always say) we didnt choose them they chose us. Hope you find each other very soon, take care. Anne x

    December 1, 2010 at 4:21 AM

  9. Juli

    Chip… I am so sad to hear of Sams loss. He was such an awesome dog. Truly. You were the best friend that Sam could ever have! A great buddy to go riding in the car with an in general just tossing a ball for.

    Hugs to you, Chip. I’ve not been around in a while to give you the support you deserve. I’m sorry for that! Be sure to take lots of photos of the new pooch so we can start getting him on the right track! 😉

    Hugs,
    Juli

    December 1, 2010 at 7:57 AM

  10. Chip, I notice everyone keeps saying “another dog” and along that line. What? NOOOOO —- the terms is DOGS, as in plural. I know you hate me now, lol. I’ll never stop pushin’ xxx

    December 1, 2010 at 3:39 PM

  11. That’s wonderful news and I’m sure Sam will be bouncing around and barking his approval…after all trying to keep an eye on all of you at once is a mighty tall order for any dog!!! Even Sam! I definately think though…2 dogs have already chosen you…lol…the 3rd one is bound fall in love with you too…and you can’t leave one behind…lol…so take em all!! Sam will love to see you with a whole pack on board to help him watch over you guys 🙂 Go get em all!!! Wolfie hugs for you all 😉

    December 1, 2010 at 6:26 PM

Leave a Reply

