The view from my perch on the mountain

Still looking up

The weather is chilly, damp and gray and this is the type of day that makes me want to stay indoors and nurse my arthritic bones. However, I have long suffered an acute case of cabin fever that makes me want to bolt out the door as soon as my morning coffee gets my heart started. Today was no exception.

IMG_3477

Just because the light is poor that doesn’t mean there isn’t anything to shoot.

IMG_3478

Even if it’s just the tree hanging over the truck as I sat in the library parking lot waiting for THE BOSS.

IMG_3479

I’ll sure be glad when I get the new lenses for my glasses. Until then, checking any books out is a waste of time. At least I can increase the font size on my laptop.

IMG_3458

Even the wading birds are trying to get in out of the weather!

IMG_3459

I spotted this guy in a tree on the way home. He even flew down and landed in the pond for me to get a few frames but I like these, too.

11 responses

  1. Strangely enough, I sort of like the light in Winter. Because its lower down everything casts longer shadows and its light is somewhat different as it is reflected from the leaves (any that are still attached that is) I plodded through the park yesterday on my way to take my broken bag into the cobblers, and tried to capture not only this, but the frosty conditions as well.
    No huge birds to snap though! Love your photos as always and thanks for the LIKE! WordPress just keeps getting better and better in my opinion. These guys really do care about this site.

    November 25, 2010 at 7:19 AM

  2. wonderful pictures again! sometimes I think it is the view through a camera’s lense which makes us see a day more beautiful as it seemed before.

    November 27, 2010 at 6:34 PM

  3. I find myself coming back to your web-site only because you have lots of awesome insights and also you happen to be at this a while, which is very impressive and tells me you know your stuff.

    December 5, 2010 at 10:24 AM

  4. Interesting photos–thanks for sharing.

    December 10, 2010 at 5:13 AM

  5. SethPopowich

    I am finding the photos of the orange/reddish leaves still clinging to the branches very refreshing, change of scenery. Around my neck of the woods, all you basically see these days is white snow everywhere, icicles hanging from buildings, a little jack frost here and there if you are lucky an dplenty of people shoveling. That’s what I admire so much in photography, being able to capture moments… near or far, that provide us with that change in scenery that we may be to accustomed to.
    Your pictures are very bright, and I think the lighting didn’t hinder you at all from taking some wonderful snapshots!

    December 13, 2010 at 3:43 AM

  6. SethPopowich

    I’ve been out walking in a winter wonderland. My fingers are too cold to type, so I leave you this simple greeting until I get back here… http://i56.tinypic.com/2saxvuu.gif

    December 15, 2010 at 1:11 AM

  7. HI thought it was time to leave a comment i find your pictures very calming something about the old pictures when it comes to the family, wish i had taken more when all my family were still around. Good idea puting your name to them some people use snaps to make money even when thery are not taken by themselves.
    I like the nature snaps to you may like some i have put on my blog as we have had snow, doesnt happen that oftan so i thought i would take them.
    all the best my old mate and have a great Chrismas andd new year.

    December 19, 2010 at 9:26 AM

  8. SethPopowich

    Tomorrow is Monday, a start to a new week, and quite the exciting week it is. I hope that it starts off smooth for you and only gets better.
    Hope that you and yours are taking good care.

    December 20, 2010 at 4:11 AM

  9. SethPopowich

    Greetings to you and yours my friend… May your world be filled with warmth and good cheer this Holiday Season and throughout the coming new year. Some people celebrate Christmas and some do not. Despite one’s own beliefs and traditions, I find that at this time of year, it’s almost as if ‘something or someone’ waves a magical wand over most of the world… and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. Cheers to you and your whole household!
    —> http://i54.tinypic.com/14vmufq.gif

    December 24, 2010 at 5:05 PM

  10. SethPopowich

    Before you ring out the old and ring in the new when the mid-nite bell rings on December 31st, I just wanted to leave you a brief message to wish you in 2011… Happiness, Success, Peace, Hope and Togetherness with your Family and Friends. Wishing you a very…very…very prosperious 2011.
    Cheers to a New Year … and another chance for us to get it right!
    —> http://i54.tinypic.com/2a61qa9.gif

    December 29, 2010 at 2:53 AM

  11. The colours of the leaves are wonderful My friend
    so u have painfull bones?? sorry to hear the rain is not good for that i know
    keep on taking fotoos..oke??
    they are awesome and the birds is like posing …see me plslol
    tc
    MJ

    January 14, 2011 at 5:55 PM

Leave a Reply

