The view from my perch on the mountain

Morning burdz

A few of the burdz outside our window this morning.

IMG_2553

Female Cardinal

IMG_2413

Chickadees (above and below)

IMG_2414

And, last but not least, a Pine Siskin.

IMG_2963

I was just about to go outside to photograph a pair of Purple Finches and two pairs of cardinals when all of the birds scattered. Sam quickly pointed out the cause; a pair of cats lurking in the flower bed. While he chased them off I managed to capture these shots through the window before they darted away, as well. I thought I would get these posted while I wait for the sun to move enough to do some more shooting.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.



6 responses

  1. nize burdz pictures. and i see, if possible, linguistic standards are more variable. reflecting over nize burdz ^^

    November 9, 2010 at 12:52 PM

  2. Awww! Aren’t they little cute cuddly little burdz?!! That little Cardinal is making me smile …. it looks so small and round topped off with that little crest 🙂 I could look at these pic’s all day long…they’re gorgeous 🙂
    Oh…and btw 😉 you have a challenger re scar size lol on my blog page!

    November 9, 2010 at 3:19 PM

  3. They are too too tweet! Great job, Chip!

    November 9, 2010 at 4:08 PM

  4. Glad Sam seems to be back on duty 🙂 great pics Chip x

    November 9, 2010 at 5:28 PM

  5. Oh, Chip, this was soooooo good! The slideshow at the end was so wonderful that I watched it over and over again. Look at those adorable (well, they are) Woodpeckers! And all the rest, just great. They all look like they have their winter feathers bundled on doesn’t it make you just want to nuzzle their little bods 😀
    I was looking at the Pine Siskin up above that, and now I’m wondering if what I thought were sparrows in my yard (the ones that held the funeral service) were really Siskins. I’ve got to look that up. They are incredibly similar.
    Well, before I sign off, you’ll be happy to know that I am now walking in a U shape from lugging in 20 lb bags of bird seed, one after the other. Amazing how heavy they get after the first 2 bags and all those steps. But the “burdz” will be happy to see me in the morning 😀 (and the squirrels and the chipmunks…)

    November 9, 2010 at 7:19 PM

Leave a Reply

