The view from my perch on the mountain

And so it begins

It is cold and blustery out today and the National Weather Service is calling for a slight chance of rain.

IMG_2176

Considering the looks of the clouds rolling in and the occasional flakes falling I wonder just what sort of showers they have in mind.

IMG_2145

Add to that the special weather statement just issued calling for a hard freeze tonight and I think I can guess.

IMG_2149

This shot taken during a quick trip for milk and bread this afternoon, looking north towards Big Walker Mountain. confirms my suspicions. Snow showers! Don’t ask me why but everyone runs to the store for bread and milk as soon as the first mention of snow is made. I figure I ought to join in, just in case……

IMG_2153

Every time I pass this old shed it seems to lean another inch or two.

IMG_2158IMG_2159  

Titmice watching the pine siskins battle over the thistle sock in Burd Town this afternoon.

IMG_2177

One day I’ll remember to ask someone what this weed is.

IMG_2102

Last but not least, a woodpecker made a brief stop outside our window this morning/ past experience tells me there will be many more as winter sets in.

6 responses

  1. I do like that second picture Chip, the flash or peach gives it a dash of mystery, Haven’t these little siskins got long sharp bills? wouldn’t fancy being on the other end of them.
    It’s getting a bit chilly here in UK too according to the weather guys, it’s going to get windy wet and cold, looks like summer’s well and truly over. Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    November 6, 2010 at 5:46 PM

  2. the first pic you could have taken around here today ^^
    that weed – could it be an Affodil? (even it seems not to be common in the “new world” – maybe an illegal immigrant …^^)

    November 6, 2010 at 7:18 PM

    • Rocket Man

      It may well be, Puzzle. I have absolutely no idea and THE BOSS says she doesn’t either although she may be getting even with me for some as yet unknown transgression…….at least unknown to me, that is.

      November 6, 2010 at 7:33 PM

  3. Oooo, yes, that 2nd shot is especially great. Immediately I thought, “Oh yeah, Chip’s in for some big weather changes.” Well, you didn’t get that snow the other day so it must be saving up for it tonight. Here’s it’s only going down to 35 or 36, but the air has that wonderful crispness that only Fall can bring. It’s my favorite time of the year.
    I cracked up with the milk and bread. Why do people do that?? It’s the same everywhere and with the first teenie, tiny, hint of snow, everyone for 3000 miles runs to the store and totally clears off all the bread aisle and all the milk. Is there something I don’t know about milk staying good when there’s no electricity? Art Linkletter was so right when he said People Are Funny….funny, nuts is more like it. I say when you get the news of snow, head to the store and buy all the chips, dips, peanuts, popcorn, cookies, ….you get the idea :D…and then load up on a gazillion movies. That’s livin’ the good life.
    I had 2 woodpeckers today, one on each side of my window. I grabbed my camera, headed down the steps as fast as I could, creaked open the door, barrelled out to the front yard — just in time to see them fly off. At least YOU got the shot, lol, and a great one at that. Ok, I see I’ve started a novel over here so I’m gettin’ out while the gettin’ is good. ~~~later

    November 6, 2010 at 8:00 PM

  4. Hi Chip
    your weather dont look to good, but your pic \’s are great,
    like the one of the little woodpecker
    Take care
    Sue

    November 7, 2010 at 3:43 AM

  5. ah yes…Winter ‘Draws’ on…( I think I’ll go and put a jumper on too.) .Photo’s are wonderful..love seeing the bird-life. and scenery from my computer chair…
    and looking out of my window, there’s blue skies, touch with cloud, and hardly any wind at all…Wonderful walking weather…Come on Bess.!!
    (and bread and milk> I have to have at least three bottles of milk int’ fridge to feel at ease!!..3x 2ltr < or I start twitching.. childhood trauma?)
    xPenx

    November 7, 2010 at 9:56 AM

Leave a Reply

