The view from my perch on the mountain

Gray sort of day

We had just a hint of blue sky this morning but, by the time I got outdoors with the camera……

IMG_1976

…..and replaced the dead battery pack with the spare, fully charged battery…..

IMG_1966

………the sky had clouded over and I switched from “capture what little is left of the fall color” mode to “maybe I should see what I can get in black and white” mode”…….especially after capturing this shot from behind the wheel as we sailed past at 45 MPH! I didn’t even use the viewfinder, just laid the camera on my left arm, hit the auto focus and held the shutter button down for 5 or 6 frames when I heard the beep. Man I love image stabilized lenses!

NOTE TO FISH HOOK: I have no doubt that you recognize this shed and I also know that the speed limit on this stretch of road is 35 MPH but that only applies if there is a police officer in the area. Still let’s keep this just between you and me.

IMG_1677

A lady up the street has this wrought iron set in her front yard and I think they look great, no matter what the season. Note the dry stacked retaining wall she built to keep the ridge from sliding into her yard when it pours down rain. I wonder if I could get her to build one to make the ridge slide into the village idiot dufus reason inbreeding is illegal Walter’s yard when it pours down rain.

IMG_1974

Parking my rear end in my Adirondack chair a little burd brought me a burst of inspiration.

Note that, unlike our neighbor lady, I prefer to let the leaves remain where they landed, as Mother Nature no doubt intended. This is also done in the fervent hope that they will blow across the street and the village idiot dufus reason inbreeding is illegal Walter will have to rake them up in his yard. In case you haven’t noticed, I really dislike that guy. I still think he had more than a little to do with Sam’s illness.

IMG_1993 IMG_1994

Back on track …..what better subject to photograph in black and white than a black and white burd?

IMG_1997

Ah, my little chickadees!

IMG_2001

There must have been a dozen of them flitting from branch to feeder then disappearing in a flash.

IMG_2054

When I say they disappeared in a flash that is no exaggeration. Them little critters is FAST! I wonder how tough it would be to train them to fly across the street and dive bomb the village idiot dufus reason inbreeding is illegal Walter every time he steps foot outside.

IMG_1610

Fast as they may be I managed to get a couple dozen clear frames of them as well as a few of my favorite black and white subject, Sam the Wonder Dog, who is continuing to recover and, even when he’s ill, is always at my side. Right now he’s doing his impression of a foot stool after snuggling his way under my feet so that I can’t get to the cookie jar without him knowing it.

NOTE TO SELF: Turning the power switch to the OFF position before putting the camera back in the bag when finished shooting will make the battery last a lot longer. smile_embaressed

NOTE TO SANTA: Thank you for the spare battery pack and power inverter for the truck that you brought last Christmas! I trust my wish list for this year has arrived intact. If not, just text me and I’ll e-mail another half dozen copies, complete with photos, best prices, online ordering info, and anything else to make this year’s procurement and delivery as easy as possible. I’m even willing to pay shipping and handling. How’s that for being nice? smile_teeth

NOTE TO THE US POSTAL SERVICE:  Thank you for delivering the latest copy of the B+H Photo catalogue in time for me to get my Christmas wish list off to Santa. Now to get busy with the Cabela’s catalogue so that I can get my other list together for the family’s shopping convenience.

11 responses

  1. I am laughing SO hard that I have tears coming down my cheeks! Omg, what a funny post! And what great, GREAT pics. On the other hand, I don’t think I knew of old Walter before this and now he’s on my “list”, if you get what I mean. Geez, if there’s any chance that he actually had something to do with Sam’s illness, then I can think of a million things to make his life miserable. I’m sorry, I just have no tolerance for people like that. Even the word “people” is too good for them/him. Grrr, makes me hot mad.
    Sam is looking GOOD. Smart boy to put himself as your footstool for cookie jar watching, lol. Go ahead, give him a cookie or 2 (but no chocolate). His coat is looking especially shiny; I’d say he’s well on the road to recovery, tg. Have you ever thought of putting out a few of those stealth cams? Just a thought.
    Catch you later, Chip. Now I’m off to Va Through My Lens ’cause whew, you posted there, too, lol. Cya in a minute or 2.

    November 3, 2010 at 7:38 PM

    • Rocket Man

      My nephew had one out behind the house a couple of years ago to get photos of the deer wandering the ridge. II’m leaning more towards putting out land mines in Walter’s yard.

      November 4, 2010 at 11:08 AM

  2. I guess you ain’t countin’ on a gift from the village idiot dufus reason inbreeding is illegal Walter. You know he could surprise ya. Maybe a bag of leaves or two.

    November 3, 2010 at 9:20 PM

    • Rocket Man

      I have a gift for him……actually 410 gifts (12 Gauge 2 3/4″ #8 shot) but Frankie says I can’t let him have it because the noise and muzzle flash might disturb the neighbors.

      November 4, 2010 at 11:07 AM

  3. Im with Jenny, if it was Walter that hurt Sam, I too can find a million thing to do to the low life, if we where all there Sam would be living on cookies,
    Take care
    Sue

    November 4, 2010 at 7:34 AM

    • Rocket Man

      Mom keeps a bag of Ginger Snaps just for Sam. My oldest brother loves them and complains that she won’t let him have any because they’re for Sam!

      November 4, 2010 at 11:03 AM

  4. ROTFL 😉 You certainly know how to make a point re Walter! Sounds like Sam’s making a good recovery tho if he’s after cookies lol better make another note to yourself to add cookies to the christmas list and start Sam’s wish list while you’re at it!

    November 4, 2010 at 8:51 AM

    • Rocket Man

      Start his list????? He made me send his in before I could start mine!

      November 4, 2010 at 11:02 AM

      • Smart Sam! And it’s my wolfie guess you’re still adding to that list which is probably now so long that it it will wrap several times around Santa’s grotto and still continue to grow!! 🙂

        November 4, 2010 at 1:34 PM

  5. Hi Chip, glad that Sam is on the mend, do you want me to send Tango over to sort out Walter.
    Enjoyed the blog and such super pics.

    November 5, 2010 at 4:48 PM

  6. Beautiful photos, I like it 😉

    November 6, 2010 at 7:51 AM

Leave a Reply

