The view from my perch on the mountain

A new visitor

A cold front moved in overnight, dropping our overnight temperatures to below freezing. Despite today’s sunny skies the brisk wind and low 50 degree air temperature had me wearing layers when Sam and I went outdoors today. While he snoozed in a patch of sunshine at my feet I turned my lens towards the American Goldfinches visiting Burd Town today.

IMG_1204

There seemed to be at least one on every branch.

IMG_1237

They’re not really that chubby.

IMG_1277

As a defense against the icy winds birds puff their feathers away from their skin to trap air and create a layer of insulation.

IMG_1282

As I was scanning the branches for more Goldfinches I got a surprise.

IMG_1108

Burd Town is one of my favorite shooting sites and I’ve seen many species on the feeders or perched in the tree but this is the first time I’ve seen this guy.

IMG_1116

I’m no ornithologist but after some online research and a browse through our Pederson’s Field Guide I’m pretty certain this is a Purple Finch.

IMG_1139

Now that most of the leaves are off the tree it’s much easier to spot birds in the upper branches. Most species seemed to develop much brighter plumage during the winter months and I’ll be keeping an eye out for this one.

6 responses

  1. That is a special sighting ….

    October 29, 2010 at 5:58 PM

  2. What a lovely treat! I hope he adores Burd Town as much your other bird fans do!

    October 29, 2010 at 11:30 PM

  3. arlene

    Hi Chip, what lovely clear photos, poor little burdz, they have a rough time in the winter, their little toes must be shrammed. Perhaps that red faced one is just glowing with the cold, Wrap up and keep warm

    October 30, 2010 at 9:51 AM

  4. pretty little birds 😉 i like shooting them too, but they are so busy here they dont sit still long.
    k☼

    October 30, 2010 at 9:58 AM

  5. Anne

    Hi Chip, Glad to hear Sam is out and about again, nice photos. That purple one is beautiful.

    October 30, 2010 at 1:19 PM

  6. What a beautiful little burd! Good eye Rocket. Looks like you have developed quiet the feathered tourist destination there. I haven’t developed a fool proof squirrel defense on my feeders yet. I did get me a pretty good BB rifle with intentions of popping the tree rats. So far I’m target practicing and haven’t had the heart to drill one yet!

    October 31, 2010 at 12:31 PM

Leave a Reply

