The view from my perch on the mountain

More fall color

Several days of heavy rain and strong wind has knocked a lot of the leaves out of the trees, cutting the leaf peeping season short this year but there is still some color if you just look around  bit.

IMG_0801

IMG_0796

IMG_0895

 IMG_0910 

 IMG_0922 

IMG_0928

While the rains are gone the strong winds are still with us. I still have a few places in mind that are sheltered by taller ridges and should still be showing some color and I will be out to see what there is to see, and shoot, in the coming days. Best of all, my buddy Sam is on the mend and that grinning black face will soon be hanging out the window again!

8 responses

  1. Pam

    To southern me it looks absolutely glorious. This is a season I dearly miss, its still in the 80’s here in Florida. I guess I am never satisfied…

    October 28, 2010 at 6:32 PM

  2. Wow! Lovely work, Chip. The red trees are yummy between the highway contrasted against what I call “sleeping” tree on the right hand side of your first photo. Of course, the fence photo gets me. A tie back to the rocks. They could all easily be paintings.

    October 28, 2010 at 7:02 PM

  3. The autumn colours remain as rich and beautiful as ever! I’ve noticed more fiery red this side of the pond amongst the trees now, I guess we’re getting closer to the winter by the day aren’t we? The beautiful array of trees and the sheer vastness of your part of the world do however permenantly outstrip ours!
    Look forward to hearing about Sam and his head out of the window hanging!!

    October 28, 2010 at 8:13 PM

  4. These photos are spectacular. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen Virginia’s mountains in the fall. Beautiful.

    October 28, 2010 at 8:45 PM

  5. penelopephoebe

    Super autumnal photos, Chip. I am so relieved to hear Sam is on the mend. Thanks for your comment on my blog. I shall bear it in mind.

    October 28, 2010 at 11:14 PM

  6. Chip
    these are wonderful pictures, you truly do live in a beautiful part of our world,
    and im so glad Sam on the mend and i bet he cant wait to be out and about with you again
    Take care
    Sue

    October 29, 2010 at 12:14 AM

  7. LOVE these fall shots dread the cold, gray, dark shots in winter..You live in such a wonderful area, the views are just great. Hope you are feeling better.. : )

    October 29, 2010 at 11:19 AM

  8. The colours of autumn on here are just breathtaking, we have nice ones too but not on this scale, A painter’s dream.
    I didn’t know Sam was not well Chip, sorry, I ‘ve got a job trying to keep up, sometimes I don’t know where I am WordPress, Blogspot, Chrome ,I Explorer, or what, I think I need a white stick or a sat nav. anyhow, whatever it was I’m glad he’s getting over it.

    October 29, 2010 at 3:16 PM

Leave a Reply

