The view from my perch on the mountain

Sun dappled maple

After several days of abuse my back finally got bad enough that staying close to home was not an option, it was a necessity. Sam has been having digestive ailments the past few days and,  though he appears to be feeling better, going for a ride is still out of the question for him. I don’t want to worry about any accidents on Godzilla’s upholstery if I can’t pull over fast enough when he needs to get out.

Even if I did feel up to traveling today the look he gives me when I tell him he has to stay home makes me feel so guilty that I only do so when absolutely necessary. I get the feeling he still doesn’t believe me when I tell him dogs aren’t allowed in the doctor’s office, dentist’s, grocery store, Wal-Mart, etc.

IMG_0503

On mild days such as the one we enjoyed today Sam and I often spend time just sitting out in the yard soaking up the sun.

IMG_0567

This time of year we get the added bonus of autumn color, especially in the maple in our yard.

IMG_0533

Not all the color is from the leaves. Our feathered visitors seem to become more colorful by the day, as well.

IMG_0552It won’t be long until they really stand out against the snow that will arrive all too soon. Actually, I don’t mind a few inches of snow, as long as it doesn’t come down by the foot as it did last year.

6 responses

  1. Chip
    I hope you and Sam are felling better very soon, soak up as much of the sun as you both can, before it get too cold,
    I love your birds they so small and beautiful, so unlike what we have here
    Take care
    Sue

    October 25, 2010 at 3:06 AM

  2. Juli

    You’re right… your feathered friends are very colorful and will stand out in the snow… hard to believe that snow is just around the corner, isn’t it?

    Have a great week… my neck is finally better… the nerve flare is finally down….

    October 25, 2010 at 8:18 AM

  3. You guys rest and get better. Your backyard is wondrous enough for now. Love the leaf pics and all the spectacular colors this time of year affords. We had a weekend of rain, for a change, and everything is bright and crisp this morning!

    October 25, 2010 at 8:58 AM

  4. Hope you’re soon back up and running 🙂 Hasn’t stopped the gorgeous photos tho has it! I’ve finally got round to installing the very expensive photoshop and am in the increasingly slow position of learning how to use it…seems to work great with the photos in the DVD tutorial files but try the same exercises on my pics…ooooohhhhhh dear! Not at all impressive…a Wolfie could lose heart for this £80 software very quickly at this rate! 😉

    October 25, 2010 at 9:47 AM

    • I think I’ll wait to see how you progress before I buy it …

      October 25, 2010 at 12:44 PM

      • Rocket Man

        I’m not much of a fan of Photoshop, rarely using the copy installed on my laptop. I’m more interested in accurately capturing what I actually see, rather than creating a perfect image with software. Usually Picasa 3 is all I need to crop, correct blemishes (mostly dust on the lens), remove red eye and sharpen images. I have a bad habit of getting too wrapped up in getting a shot and forgetting to check the lens or filter for dust and smudges. Other than that, the images I post are pretty much straight off the SD card. That said, what I post is a very small percentage of what I shoot.

        October 25, 2010 at 4:30 PM

Leave a Reply

