The view from my perch on the mountain

Crystal Springs

We were blessed with a gorgeous fall day today, partly cloudy and mild, perfect weather for leaf peeping. My wife, Frankie, had the day off so we climbed in the truck, picked up Frankie’s sister, Pat, and her husband, Barry (better known as Fish Hook), and headed out of town to investigate the newly opened recreation area at Crystal Springs.

IMG_9429

This area has long been used by hunters who were required to obtain a special permit from the town. The springs this area is named for also served as part of the town water supply for several decades. This year the town parks and recreation department obtained adjoining property which has been designated as a hiking, biking and camping area.

I have no idea why there is an old milk can on top of this stump but it does seem to belong there.

IMG_9466

The deck for this bridge, one of many on the recently built hiking trails, is made of split logs topped with planks.

IMG_9513

Picnic tables and fire pits can be found at several areas along the trails. There are also several areas designated for camping. We will definitely be back for family picnics!

IMG_9545

Signs, signs, everywhere are signs……

IMG_9609 IMG_9627

…….pointing the way to different trails, to the restrooms……..

IMG_9807

……even a sign reminding Frankie to put those chipmunks she had in her camera bag back where she found them! I’ve been in several state and national parks and recreation areas that sported signs saying “Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints.” This is the first time I’ve seen one reading “Please replace all borrowed items and wildlife where they belong.” 

There are boxes, like the one below this sign, at several places along the trails containing binoculars, magnifying glasses, small nets, and other items for guests to borrow as they explore. Brochures describing flora and fauna as well as maps of the trails are also available at each stop.

IMG_9810

There are even signs telling you to yield to BEARS! If a bear decides to climb the same tree I’m in I ain’t about to give the critter the right of way! The game warden will just have to write me a ticket!

IMG_9656

That’s all I have for this post and the girls thank you for joining us on our hike. We hope you’ve enjoyed it so far and invite you to see more photos from today’s adventure on my other page, Virginia Through My Lens.

PS: Note Frankie is carrying a camera today and not a frying pan.

4 responses

  1. Chip
    These are great pic’s wow the colour in the tree is just so beautiful, love the old milk can, ok im off to look at your other page
    Take care
    Sue

    October 18, 2010 at 8:13 PM

  2. These are gorgeous. Wherever I go this year, I seem to be a week ahead or a week behind the peak of fall leaf color.

    October 19, 2010 at 7:41 AM

  3. Juli

    Love that old Milk can… wonder if it was for moon shining hears ago….

    October 19, 2010 at 7:53 AM

  4. Beautiful RM.. I think my fav photo is of Frankie but I do love Love that old milk can. I have a few here . I need to get them out. They havent any rust that I know off mind you they are indoors and to think at one time before I picked up a camera to never put it down I was going to paint mine putting old barns on them with fences.
    I did tole painting and oil before I picked up a camera.
    Lovely Blog.

    October 20, 2010 at 12:10 AM

Leave a Reply

