The view from my perch on the mountain

I think I hear Duelin’ Banjoes!

IMG_9077

Having successfully completed a very tricky 3 point 12 point turn on a very narrow gravel road without driving through any fences or losing any paint I retraced what I hoped was my route to the ROAD CLOSED sign. Eventually I discovered a dirt road leading off to the left. Seeing plenty of blue sky on the horizon I chose to follow this road in the hopes of getting high enough to get a signal on my phone which would allow me to A) MapQuest my way out of this mess or B) call everybody in my address book. Surely somebody I know would be able to figure out where I was. Some of them might even tell me how to get home…..after they finished laughing.

IMG_9087

As I rolled along, not stopping quite as often because I had already been gone 4 hours and was starting to get hungry, I thought I spotted movement near this tree.

IMG_9093

Yep, my eyes weren’t playing tricks one me. The vultures had started circling. I saw enough cowboy movies when I was young to know that vultures circling means something’s dead or dying and I was worried that they might know something I didn’t.

IMG_9102

Just as I was wondering how many vultures were up there and whether I could actually hit them in the air with a handgun I rounded a curve and found a creek. This had to be either Cripple Creek or Reed Creek and both of those flowed under paved highways in several places. All I had to do was follow the creek and I would eventually find a road that WAS on my maps!

IMG_9112

Suddenly things weren’t looking quite as dismal. I even had a general idea of where I was but the story isn’t going to end here. To find out how I finally got back home and why Frankie is mad you’ll have to visit my Blogger page, Virginia Through My Lens.

4 responses

  1. you are a bad lad and I have just read the end of your story lol 🙂 don’t know how she puts up with you 😉

    October 13, 2010 at 5:09 PM

  2. Lovely… I’ve been following this string and just love it… great job!!

    October 14, 2010 at 8:20 AM

  3. suealehman

    Wow, what a great adventure. I love getting lost in places like that and trying to maneuver my way on those one-way road —NOT! Nice pics, though, especially the creek. Will check out your Blogger to find out the end…

    October 14, 2010 at 10:10 AM

  4. arlene

    That made me smile Chip, I have exactly the same problem I’m a complet duffer when it comes to navigation, I’d get lost in my own back garden, and I’ve spent £’s on petrol by taking detours. I’ll check out and see what Frankie’s beef was about.
    PS I can’t understand and get cheesed off with having to fill in my name and email before I can post a comment. huh!

    October 14, 2010 at 3:20 PM

Leave a Reply

