The view from my perch on the mountain

I wonder where this road goes

Part 3 in the continuing saga of how I ended up in the dog house.

IMG_9031

While on my “short trip to shoot a few photos” yesterday I eventually looked through the windshield, instead of the view finder, and there before me was a stretch of road that looked vaguely familiar.

IMG_9039

There were wonderful fall colors on both sides so I continued rolling along, stopping wherever the mood grabbed me and shooting pictures of everything within camera range.

IMG_9042

The haze had almost completely vanished by now and the deep blue sky was  breathtaking.

IMG_9043

The high, puffy clouds provided the perfect contrast between the deep blue above and the fields below.

IMG_9046

Rounding the next curve in the road I found this sign and knew exactly where I was. I had stumbled upon Raven Cliff on a previous exploration but had arrived here by a different route this time.

IMG_9054

Now that I knew exactly where I was I turned my mind once again to capturing as much of the fall color as possible. This was the beginning of my problems.

Murphy’s law states that whatever can go wrong will. Today Murphy was riding in Sam’s seat.

Murphy ain’t much of a navigator. At least Sam marks trees so he won’t get lost.

What will Rocket man discover next?

Is that smoke coming out of Frankie’s ears?

Why is she holding a cast iron frying pan?

To find out you’ll need to read Part 4 which can be found on my Blogger page, Virginia Through My Lens

Click the link if you dare.

3 responses

  1. Dood. You and I would get along fine!! But Frankie, she’d kick our A$$’S ’cause we’d never come back!!

    October 12, 2010 at 1:29 PM

  2. arlene

    Well Chip, whatever Frankie has waiting for you at the end of your trip, it’s been a nice colourful and pleasant journey. LOL

    October 12, 2010 at 5:39 PM

  3. Zia Wolf-Sun

    RM!!!! The pics are indeed “breathtaking!” Unfortunately so is your determination to keep us all in suspenders and keep us running from site to site like demented chickens!! lol 🙂

    October 12, 2010 at 6:24 PM

Leave a Reply

