The view from my perch on the mountain

Autumn at Rural Retreat Lake

Today the girls (my wife Frankie and our daughter, Laura) got together and were so busy jabbering that I was able to escape from custody. Sadly, my co-pilot and navigator, Sam the Wonder Dog, was undergoing flea removal procedures and had to remain behind. This was to prove unfortunate as you will find out if you follow this series of blogs.

Yes, that’s correct…….a series of blogs. I shot enough frames this afternoon to write at least 6 posts and I have decided to publish 2 a day, one to each of my blog pages.

This is part 1.

Part 2 will be published on my Blogger page, Virginia Through My Lens.

IMG_8883

When I left home today I had no clear destination in mind so I just wandered down West Lee Highway looking for something interesting to shoot. I soon found myself at Rural Retreat Lake. 

IMG_8891

I can’t think of anything to say that could possibly compare to the volumes spoken by the scenes that greeted me so I’ll stop typing.

IMG_8909   

IMG_8917

 

IMG_8926

 

IMG_8936

I first discovered this old barn last year when I was out wandering with my daughter’s Kodak Easy Share shortly after deciding to take up photography as a hobby. While I fully expect to find it fallen into a heap some day it hasn’t done so yet! They built ‘em sturdy back in the day.

IMG_8942

Leaving the lake for home, the long way around of course, I found autumn’s colors seemingly twice as bright as yesterday everywhere I looked.

IMG_8945

The mountains on the horizon seemed brighter with each turn.

IMG_8950

There were also old buildings around every corner. This proved to be the start of my troubles. When I finally wandered over to Grayson Turnpike I turned left towards home but a couple of miles along something caught my eye and ………….

Sorry. You’ll need to follow this link to read the next installment. I’ll give you a hint. THE BOSS (my darling bride) is not pleased with me this evening!

Click here for the next chapter of today’s adventure.

Go ahead…..I dare you to click the link!

6 responses

  1. Lol, oh I have to see what trouble you’ve got yourself in now Mr!

    October 12, 2010 at 5:05 AM

  2. so far very pretty. ok … clicking … (rarely turn down a dare)
    k☼

    October 12, 2010 at 7:39 AM

  3. Number 5 is my personal favorite!! Great photo of the color… that camera you’re using, and lens, takes such fantastic photo’s of color… or is that your F-stop or something else? I don’t have a fancy SLR, just a Cannon cool pix point and shoot….

    October 12, 2010 at 7:57 AM

  4. Pam

    Its hard to put into words how much I enjoy seeing these beautiful country scenes, Chip. I miss the splendor of fall in the north. Thanks for sharing the beauty through your lens.

    October 12, 2010 at 8:51 AM

  5. How curious…I click backwards from Blogger under one title and arrive here under another! Fascinating! Very naughty of you to leave us in suspense like this you know! Whacka! Whacka! Whacka! Bangy! Bangy! Bangy! 😉

    October 12, 2010 at 9:55 AM

  6. Tricia

    Can’t wait for the series to continue …. but certainly enjoyed the ride ….

    October 12, 2010 at 11:03 AM

Leave a Reply

