The view from my perch on the mountain

Family outing

The plan for today was to load the family into my trusty SUV, Godzilla, and drive down to Independence, Virginia for the Fall Foliage Festival and Outhouse Olympics. That was the plan. Just as in combat, no plan survives the first shot. Today proved that rule out but we still managed to have a good time.

IMG_8640 Our route took us through the Jefferson National Forest on Highway 21. Most of the trip involved crossing Mt. Rogers, the highest peak in Virginia. On top of Mt. Rogers there is a man made overlook on Comer’s Rock. Laura had never been up there and Frankie hadn’t been there since childhood so we planned to make a stop there on the way south.

IMG_8642

Turning off Highway 21 we followed Comer’s Rock Rd. 4 miles to the top of the mountain. We were treated to a riot of autumn colors the entire way.

IMG_8659

Once at the top we parked the truck and began the climb up the rough hewn rock steps to the observation platform atop the rock itself. Halfway up Frankie realized that she hadn’t recovered as much as she thought from the bug she’s been battling. Laura walked her mother back down to Godzilla and Sam went along to protect Mama from bears. BEARS???? Yes bears….black bears. On a couple of previous visits to the overlook I found bear sign, scat and tracks, and we actually saw a bear running up the side of the mountain once. This is one of the reasons the .357 magnum on my hip was loaded with big game rounds……just in case.

IMG_8705

I can certainly understand how the exertion brought about Frankie’s relapse. By the time I made it to the platform I was huffing and puffing…….puffing on my rescue inhaler, that is, as I felt the onset of a bronchial asthma attack. Laura was panting for breath as well but that was mostly due to having climbed nearly to the top before we called her back down to help her mom back to the truck, then jogging back up those steps to catch up with her father before he tripped and fell off the mountain.

As you can see in the two frames above, the view from the top is spectacular. Even with the layer of haze today we could see at least 15 or 20 miles!

IMG_8747

Returning to the truck we decided to forego the festivities in Independence and head for home. Frankie said she thought she would be okay if we wanted to take the long way home so we continued along Comer’s Rock Rd., descending the other side of the mountain.

IMG_8761

This route took us along a peaceful country road running along the general path of Elk Creek. Christmas tree farms, pumpkin patches and livestock grazing in the fields on both sides gave us plenty of reasons to stop and shoot a few frames here and there.

IMG_8782

In many places the road meandered through patches of forest and the smells drifting in the windows were glorious. Sam spent most of the trip with his head stretched out the window as far as he could reach.

IMG_8806

The fall colors on the hillsides are just reaching their peak. I hope to get back this way again in a few days, with Laura driving this time, so that I can shoot a few hundred more frames without worrying about wrapping Godzilla around a boulder. 

IMG_8811

It seemed that every time I took my eyes off the road there was another gorgeous copse of trees, interesting building or landscape just begging to be photographed.

IMG_8816

Some of the buildings along the road were obviously abandoned and in various stages of decay while others, though obviously old, were well maintained and still in use.

IMG_8823

We only passed half a dozen cars and trucks while covering at least 25 miles along this road, making it easy and safe for me to just stop, frame a shot and fire off a few frames whenever something special caught my eye. Sam also let us know when he needed to get out and “mark a few trees”. Between the two, I stopped a lot!

IMG_8824

I’ll close with a final shot of the scenery in the Elk Creek valley but today’s trip was only half done with this scene. The remainder of the trip will be covered in a blog on my other page, Virginia Through My Lens. I hope you’ll click through. It’ll be worth your time……..I promise.

10 responses

  1. These are gorgeous!

    October 9, 2010 at 9:24 PM

    • Rocket Man

      Thanks, Chris. High praise, indeed!

      October 9, 2010 at 9:32 PM

  2. penelopephoebe

    Hiya Chip. Sorry your trip was cut short but you guys managed to take some fabulous photographs anyway. I hope Frankie feels better soon,Pen.

    October 10, 2010 at 1:18 AM

  3. Love those Autumn colours that you have captured there Rocket Man. and also the panoramic shots. Did you use Live Photo Gallery for those?
    Our Autumn colours always seem so much later than your over here in the UK, I don’t quite know why.
    So although the leaves are dropping and beginning to turn, its all not quite there yet.

    October 10, 2010 at 1:38 AM

    • Rocket Man

      No, TG, that is a cropped shot as is the case with nearly all of my panoramic images. When I start out wandering with no particular destination in mind I almost always go for high ground. We have many observation points allowing for views of 20 miles or more on a clear day.

      October 10, 2010 at 1:01 PM

  4. These like on your other blog are wonderful pictures,
    Hope Frankie feeling much better soon
    \Take care
    Sue

    October 10, 2010 at 8:51 AM

    • Rocket Man

      Frankie says to thank all of you for your good wishes and to tell you she’s starting to feel a little better. Now if she would just relax and not push herself too hard until she’s completely recovered……..

      October 10, 2010 at 1:03 PM

  5. I read the last part of your trip before coming here to read the first part. Again, the scenery in your part of the world is breathtakingly beautiful! I’m sorry that Frankie got ill and missed that beautiful view atop the mountains. I’m happy to read that she is feeling better.

    October 10, 2010 at 3:21 PM

  6. So very very beautiful. I have a photo almost the same as the top one . That blows me away. I have to post it when I get sometime Chip.
    Have a great week and keep shooting.

    October 11, 2010 at 5:05 PM

  7. I love the old farms. Nice Chip

    October 11, 2010 at 5:06 PM

Leave a Reply

