The view from my perch on the mountain

What a difference a day makes!

IMG_7978

The mountain ridge in the distance, as seen….or more accurately, not seen….. from our back yard was cloaked in fog and scattered showers yesterday afternoon as the remnants of Tropical Storm Nicole rolled up the Eastern Seaboard. We got some rain out of the storm but nothing compared to the 7.85 inches my mom got in Virginia Beach, 325 miles east of us. Parts of North Carolina, south of us,  have received as much as 22 inches of rain since Sunday!

IMG_8064 Today the sun was shining, the ridge was visible and the only clouds in the clear blue skies were the light, puffy variety. Our daughter, Laura, knows exactly what kind of clouds those are. She learned all about them in 2nd grade. I didn’t ask her about these because she’s already watching me for signs of senile dementia after I told her there are only 2 kinds of clouds in my book…..rain and not rain. That poor child is going to develop whiplash from shaking her head if she keeps talking to me. IMG_8118 As is my practice, I took the long way home after filling the tank in my SUV, Godzilla. There was a good reason for the detour. You see, while out wandering the back roads in the rain yesterday I splashed mud on the fenders and everybody knows that if you leave mud on your truck it may lead to muffler clutch failure* so I had to get the truck washed and then drive it around to make sure it dried properly.

*That is an absolute fact. Take my word for it; I’m a retired ASE certified Master Automotive Technician and we know these things…..honest!

How far out of the way did I drive? Well, that’s our town in the middle distance and the car wash/gas station I went to is over there on the other side of town from where I was when I took this shot. Our house is over there, too.

When I processed that shot I noticed that if you look real close you can make out a pair of turkey vultures riding the thermals in this shot, one near the tree tops on the left and the other on the right. Therefore it is also a nature shot which means taking the long way home is even more understandable.

IMG_8189 I thought I had missed shooting the start of the migration but there are still large numbers of geese in the area. They’re just hanging out at a different pond during the day. For some reason I have the feeling these two are saying “Oh Lord, Myrtle, he found us again!” but I don’t speak Canadian so I’m only guessing here.

IMG_8192

While I was shooting the geese this wild turkey hen just wandered out in front of me. I’m surprised this shot turned out as well as it did considering it was shot through the windshield of the still rolling truck. I know, I know…..I shouldn’t shoot photos while driving and I usually don’t but she wasn’t about to stop and wait while I came to a complete stop, changed lenses and framed the shot. Besides….there wasn’t another vehicle in sight on that particular road……I checked……right after I got this shot.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

6 responses

  1. C @ r o L i N e

    Chip I love that wild turkey….you know roadrunners are in this area. I haven’t seen one in awhile it’s become so populated, in fact it’s doubled in the past 20 years.

    October 1, 2010 at 11:16 PM

  2. your photos get better and better! the beau and i have decided to start photgraphing abandoned pllaces as we find them, and can gain entry. its quite fun, and im going to be starting a blog log of our captures.
    good to see you again … ill be around more now that wls has booted us all out. probably a good thing, since the waters were too muddied to fix.
    k☼

    October 2, 2010 at 11:16 AM

  3. Hi Chip thanks for stepping by and commenting on my blog. I enjoyed your photos, beuatiful as usual, That turkey thing wants to be careful or he’ll get flattened. Loved the comment apparently from the geese, sounds about right. LOL

    October 2, 2010 at 3:00 PM

    • Rocket Man

      More likely she’d get roasted or deep fried than flattened, Arlene!

      October 2, 2010 at 7:06 PM

  4. lovely Photo’s, and lively subjects..with that turkey trying hard not to get ‘flashed at’
    looks to me like she’s got a bonnet on? Sunday best?
    Just getting to grips with all the changes and exciting stuff on here…haven’t had so much fun in simply ages….(note to self…must get out more!!)
    xPenx. aka LadyPx

    October 3, 2010 at 2:36 PM

  5. Chip, I made it 🙂 come visit http://karenathome.wordpress.com

    October 4, 2010 at 11:52 AM

Leave a Reply

