The view from my perch on the mountain

Brain lock

From time to time all bloggers and writers experience writer’s block. Today I’ve been experiencing brain lock. I don’t know if there is such a term but if not I guess I just invented it. For some reason I just didn’t seem to have much interest in doing anything and wasted most of the day with my mind in neutral, staring at the idiot box.

sunset 1

Late this afternoon the voices in my head kicked in and I grabbed the camera as I headed out the door to watch the sunset from the top of Big Walker Mountain.

sunset 2

I’m glad i listened because the 10 mile trip up  there was well worth nearly burning my corneas out as I climbed into the setting sun.

Godzilla

Two factors cut my stay up there short. The wind was really picking up and I was starting to get chilled. I carry warm clothes in the truck but factor 2 had me packing up and heading back down before the sun was fully set. Factor 2 is the knowledge that deer get more active at twilight and negotiating the curving mountain road in failing light is tough enough without having to dodge deer. I’ve already had 2 close encounters with does suddenly appearing directly in front of my bumper. Luckily they were just very close calls.

One last look

As I got settled in behind the wheel I got one more frame from the passenger side window……

IMG_7079

………another from the driver’s side……

IMG_7090 ……and a final shot of a field near home just as the light was fading.

3 responses

  1. Fizz

    That kinda thing happens to me, too… my brain just kinda goes… Duuuuhhhhh… I can only hope it happens when I’m home and not at work, tho some days it does happen when I’m at work.

    September 8, 2010 at 9:29 PM

  2. I have no idea where Hohopee came from.. “smile?

    September 8, 2010 at 9:34 PM

  3. Im glad you listened as well.. for the view is indeed worth it. I really love the soft yet vibrant colors in the last photo.. and the second to last, makes the mountain look like its pulling up this covers for the night. wish I had the same voice talking to me about now..but the boop tube has taken me hostage I fear for the evening. will be kicking my self pretty soon as the sun is about to set.. oh well, I can come in here and enjoys yours..
    have a peaceful evening.

    sorry for the other post.. I think I am seeing things.

    September 8, 2010 at 9:36 PM

Leave a Reply

