The view from my perch on the mountain

Earl Gray

No, I didn’t spell that incorrectly. The title doesn’t refer to the tea. It refers to the bands of overcast moving through our area this morning, spin off from Hurricane Earl passing 300+ miles to the east!

IMG_6633

Coming home after taking Frankie to work I was astounded by the way a tropical system moving along the coast can effect our weather this far inland. That is one big storm!

IMG_6637

At least there were breaks in the clouds and I could shoot a few frames from high ground, this from Barrett’s Mill Road which traverses one part of the mountain right outside of town. If you look closely you can just make out the town water tower in front of the ridge line in the right hand side of this frame. If it wasn’t painted to resemble a hot air balloon it wouldn’t be visible this early in the morning.

IMG_6648

As I turned onto Atkin’s Mill Rd., heading back towards town, the rising sun provided visible evidence of the wind sheer effect on the bands of clouds moving through.

IMG_6651

I didn’t have any of the hallucinations of zebras or suspiciously misshapen deer I experienced on my previous early morning ride along this road. Frankie says she thinks they were caused by all the meds my doctors have me on. I think it’s something in the golden rod.

IMG_6658

The rising sun and scudding cloud produced some spectacular scenes for the trip home.

IMG_6666

This was especially true as I passed Frankie’s store. By this time the sun was shining high in the sky and Old Glory was dancing in the stiff breeze.

5 responses

  1. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Naaman Hills
    http://naamanhills.wordpress.com/

    September 3, 2010 at 4:54 PM

  2. Beautiful.

    September 4, 2010 at 9:30 AM

  3. Sue Mac

    Great Pic’s Chip
    Happy Father’s Day for tomorrow,
    Take care
    Sue

    September 4, 2010 at 9:56 AM

  4. Tricia

    I’m with you … definitely something in the Golden Rod!!

    Spectacular sky shots …

    September 4, 2010 at 12:06 PM

  5. lovely captures of the clouds.. and really like that Camel?
    lovely presentaion

    September 8, 2010 at 1:07 PM

Leave a Reply

