The view from my perch on the mountain

Twelve hours

Yesterday afternoon getting out with the camera again felt so good that I just had to get a few more frames.

IMG_6143

Even though I really shouldn’t have been out driving, watching the sunset through the window just wasn’t enough. Besides, the Methodist church out on rte. 52 is nearby and on high ground so……….

IMG_6156

The view from the parking lot was gorgeous!

sunset

As I wandered back home, the long way or course, I got to see a couple critters out and about.

Oh, deer!

I can’t say how many points that buck has in his rack (I’m guessing 6) but these 2 were probably 150 yards out and I could tell he was a buck with the naked eye! This was also when I realized I had left my glasses at home. This shot was at max zoom with a 55-250MM Image Stabilized lens in fading light.

Nah, couldn't be!

I soon realized the drugs hadn’t completely worn off yet because I was having hallucinations. You wouldn’t believe what I thought when I saw this horse.

Moon over Sand Mountain

Deciding to err on the side of safety I headed for home. Besides, the light was fading fast and I was afraid of what I might see looming up in the headlights. That horse was enough!

12 hours later:

On the way to town

IMG_6208

The pond I pass each morning as I take THE BOSS to work.

IMG_6212

Returning home

IMG_6224

In the field at the bottom of our street.

IMG_6227

It’s a very good thing I have a fresh supply of allergy meds on hand. That golden rod is blooming all over the place!  

IMG_6235

All of these frames were shot from the driver’s seat of my truck. I’m not quite ready to try my legs on rough ground just yet.

3 responses

  1. Absolutely lovely, as usually. Seems like I’m joining in on that Hallucination, must be a group thing for us feebs…

    August 24, 2010 at 8:57 AM

  2. Tricia

    Where did you say you live ….. does that road go past the Kruger Park!!! I love the shots with the golden rod … all hazy and glowing!!

    August 24, 2010 at 10:36 AM

  3. Must be the golden rod getting to me too. Something has my peepers all messed up. That’s a strange looking hoss. I’ll check back later after my eyes clear up.
    As always, good work Chip.
    Eye on Virginia is always a pleasure even with the squigglies, dadburn golden rod.

    August 25, 2010 at 6:48 AM

Leave a Reply

