The view from my perch on the mountain

Yep!

I’m sticking close to home today because I really shouldn’t be out roaming the streets just yet. I moved the wrong way a couple of days ago, triggering my already wrecked back, which in turn caused my legs to give out and the next thing I knew I was on my butt with the dawg licking my face and my sister in law asking if I was okay. That would have been bad enough but when I landed on the porch I did so in exactly the right way to trigger my back again! I’ve spent the past couple of days with alternating hot and cold packs as well as taking the pain killers my doctor has prescribed for just such occasions. The back and legs are much better now but the after effects of the drugs make the worst booze hangovers from back in the day seem tame by comparison.

IMG_6051

That said, my trigger finger was getting itchy and cabin fever was driving me out of what’s left of my mind. The sun was already too high to crank off a few rounds at the idiot across the street without somebody spotting where the gunfire was coming from so I settled for staking out Burd Town with my camera and my trusty sidekick, Sam the Wonder Dog.

For those who are unfamiliar, Burd Town is my name for my wife’s collection of burd feeders hanging in the tree outside our bedroom window. This is part of our green initiative because I no longer need an alarm clock to tell me when the sun has come up. Bright and early each morning, there are about a bazillion tweety burds screaming “HEY, HOW ABOUT SOME SERVICE HERE. THE FEEDER’S ARE EMPTY, AGAIN!” right outside the window.

I love observing nature because I almost always learn something.Today I learned that life as a burd is really not much different from that of humans……at least married humans.

IMG_6068

“There I was, minding my own business, sitting on the sofa….”

IMG_6104

“Then the wife showed up.”

IMG_6108

“What are you thinking about?”

IMG_6109

“Nothing.“

IMG_6113

“Well, if you don’t want to tell me just say so!”

IMG_6118

“No, really I wasn’t thinking about anything.”

IMG_6124

“You were thinking about one of your old girlfriends, weren’t you?”

IMG_6123

“No really…I wasn’t thinking about anything at all!”

IMG_6125

“I suppose you think I’ll believe that!”

IMG_6126

“So……what were you thinking about?”

Well, by now I probably have the female readers all fired up and the male readers thinking “Yep!” Fellows, don’t let the other half catch you grinning at this. The next thing you’ll hear is “What are you smiling about?”

5 responses

  1. Not fired up. I believe you read your birds communication correctly even though it’s a guy thing, which in turn gave me a good chuckle! Great shots, but my fave is of Sam.

    You take care and don’t overstress your back this week.

    August 23, 2010 at 6:23 PM

  2. penelopephoebe

    Sorry to read about all the pain you are in.
    Sam is looking very noble in his photograph. The bird shots are great. I hope you feel better soon.

    August 24, 2010 at 2:02 AM

  3. Looks like you did a good job all things considered. I’m on pain pills every work day, but that’s the price of being a workin’ girl. Should I ever find a man that wants me to be a stay at home wife, something I’ll gladly take him up on, then I would be off them too.

    Great photos, as usual Chip.

    August 24, 2010 at 9:01 AM

  4. Tricia

    Love the conversation …… give us more!!!

    August 24, 2010 at 10:39 AM

  5. Love it! I bet Mrs. Burdz even have frying pans. Or, could that be flying pans! Such is also the case with Mrs. Humanz at times!

    August 25, 2010 at 6:59 AM

Leave a Reply

