The view from my perch on the mountain

Frog strangler!

FFW

Upon finding this note in my e-mail this afternoon I promptly pulled up  the  National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) web site and took a look at the latest radar images from Blacksburg, Virginia, just up the road from us (40 or so miles north). I’ve found that even I can interpret these images just as well if not better, than the “meteorologists” on the idiot box and I don’t have their high tech devices…..a Ouija board and little bag of shiny stones and chicken bones.

Blacksburg Radar

Yep, it’s gonna rain! It’ll be good for the wild flowers.

IMG_5996

Naturally, since I own a very large sports utility vehicle, GODZILLA, and I am unencumbered by excessive common sense, I decided this would be the perfect time to get in the truck and go to town. Ain’t nothin’ better for splashing through puddles than 3 1/2 tons of V-8 powered Detroit iron with 2 feet of ground clearance and the largest set of Bridgestone mud and snow tires that will fit in the wheel wells without rubbin’!

The fact that we needed to go to the grocery store had little to do with my decision.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

IMG_6003

By the time we made it to 4th Street and Ridge Road my prediction had proven itself accurate. It was raining.

A couple of blocks north it was really coming down as I waited for the little old lady in front of me to decide she had held up traffic long enough and finally make the left turn into the Food Lion parking lot. By this time I had not only contemplated running over her car, I was also asking God why Ford didn’t offer machine guns as an option on their larger SUVs. The smaller ones don’t have enough room to carry sufficient ammunition to make this option feasible.

IMG_6013

There are times when the voices in my head come up with some very good suggestions, today being one. Rather than get out of the truck myself and risk getting carried away by the water surging across the parking lot I opted for pulling up as close to the door as possible and letting Frankie run inside. Upon her return, she reported, in a rather cross tone of voice, that the water was more than flip flop deep and she was getting soaked. I donned a concerned expression while she loaded the groceries and turned the heat on so that she wouldn’t get a chill when she got in the truck.

IMG_6024

On the way home the rain began to let up enough that I could actually see our ridge (on the left with the cell tower) in between storm cells. This shot was made from approximately 2 miles away.

IMG_6027

I’m always fascinated by the clouds of fog rising from the folds in the ridges.

At least I think that’s fog.

This particular spot is right behind my brother in law, Fish Hook’s house. He may have irritated his wife, Pat, Frankie’s sister. While she will deny it if asked, I have seen smoke emanating from her ears, on several occasions, when she is riled up. I should know; I am most adept at causing said emissions, not only from Pat, but from my darling bride, as well. Must have something to do with their upbringing.

I have also discovered that Pat’s a little less dangerous than her sister, when riled up. Frankie is prone to swinging a cast iron skillet at my headbone when provoked. She is also skilled at connecting with said headbone, and I have the lumps to prove it, hence my name for this behavior:

 

BANGY, BANGY! 

 

Don’t tell Frankie but I do enjoy the peaceful moments afterwards and the birdies, stars and fireworks are most entertaining. Regaining consciousness, however, is no fun…….unless it takes place in a hospital…….and the nurse actually brings morphine when I ask for it. WOO-HOO!

4 responses

  1. Tricia

    LOL, I hope Frankie doesn’t read this, or she may well give you a rerun for our pains!! I also love the way the mist / fog / clouds rise up between the ridges …. great atmosphere.
    I hope the rain lets up for you soon …

    August 19, 2010 at 3:05 AM

  2. penelopephoebe

    What a thoughtful fellow you are to put the heating on for Frankie, after her drenching, lol.

    August 19, 2010 at 3:15 AM

  3. Fizz

    I think you might be losing your mind… like some kinda cabin fever related to the rain!
    😉

    August 19, 2010 at 10:08 AM

  4. Ye ole Rocket rides again!

    August 19, 2010 at 11:22 AM

Leave a Reply

