The view from my perch on the mountain

Nearly there

Overloaded_Transport_20

I haven’t posted anything recently because we have been busy helping our youngest daughter leave the nest. She is moving into her first apartment prior to the start of the fall semester of her freshman year in college. This, ostensibly, in order to have a quiet place to study.

YEAH, RIGHT!

I remember my college days and all I can say is she better not! My parents were 1200 miles away when I was raising hell, chasing coeds and supporting at least 2 breweries all by myself……I mean when I was diligently pursuing my bachelor’s degree but she’s only a couple of miles down the road.

After a few hours each day of lifting and bending more than my wrecked back can stand, in oppressive heat and humidity, I haven’t been able to get out with Sam and the camera. Actually, just getting out of bed has been a major accomplishment most days.

All that is behind me now…….I think.

Laura returned from her vacation trip with John late last night. Yes, while her mother and I were slaving away, Frankie braving the depths of THE HOVEL (Laura’s room) to pack and me fighting my way through furniture assembly instructions only partially translated from the original Swahili, Pidgin Chinese or Martian (I’m still not sure which), Laura was frolicking in the surf and sand of sunny Florida. Well, only partially sunny, I am told, but still better than the near record breaking steamy heat we’ve “enjoyed” here in the Mountain Empire for the past week.

Anyway, John helped me assemble the remaining pieces of furniture today and it appears the move is complete….at least as far as my role in the exercise is concerned. The remaining items can be easily lifted and crammed into the back of Laura’s Jeep.

Now I can get back to roaming the countryside with my trusty sidekick, co-pilot and navigator, Sam the Wonder Dog. Naturally, the TV weather guesser announced this evening that the frog strangling downpour we received this afternoon is but a sample of things to come. We are supposed to have intermittent downpours for the next two or three days with as much as four inches of rain. That’s okay……I’ll probably be posting a lot of waterfowl shots…..or maybe fish. We shall see.

4 responses

  1. If I were going to school where I didn’t have to leave home… many I wouldn’t have… I really wanted to go to college but I really didn’t want to leave home.

    But you know… that was really lovely of you and Frankie to help her out with the packing so she could get just one last break in before that study time!

    Hey… just noticed that my blog is linked to the right…. thanks man!!

    August 16, 2010 at 8:25 PM

  2. penelopephoebe

    Thank goodness that is over and done with, Chip. I’ll bet your back is grateful. It is chilly and damp here but no downpours.

    August 16, 2010 at 9:12 PM

  3. Hey that’s a great clickin’ while drivin’ shot man!
    Glad the move is over, ———- for awhile.

    August 16, 2010 at 9:41 PM

  4. Be sure to pack a sou’wester and some wellingtons. Wish Laura all the luck in the world and I’ll be a spoil sport and say ‘Be Good!’

    August 17, 2010 at 3:38 PM

Leave a Reply

