The view from my perch on the mountain

You just never know

The reason I take my camera EVERYWHERE I go:

IMG_5529

This is the piebald buck Sam spotted in the back yard yesterday. By the time I got my camera he had wandered back into the woods behind the house so I missed the shot.

IMG_5531

On the way home today I spotted him just down the street so I handed Frankie the camera, stopped the truck about 10 yards away and she got these shots from the passenger side window.

IMG_5533

Buckmanager.com defines a piebald as:

A genetic variation (defect) produces the piebald condition in white-tailed deer, not parasites or diseases. Piebald deer are colored white and brown similar to a pinto pony. Sometimes they appear almost entirely white. In addition to this coloration, many have some of the following observable conditions: bowing of the nose (Roman nose), short legs, arching spine (scoliosis), and short lower jaws. This genetic condition is rare with typically less than one percent of white-tailed deer being affected.

Seeing a piebald is said to be lucky. I sure hope some of that luck gets applied to the lottery ticket Frankie had just purchased a few minutes earlier! If it does we’re all going to Disneyland!

8 responses

  1. I am now going to commit hari kari. The FIRST time I typed an entire comment, I hit delete by mistake.
    The 2nd time I did the entire comment, I got a message to add my email address (forgot I’d rebooted). I hit the backbutton and the #^$#%$ comment was gone again.
    Ok, last time and will be short ’cause I’m not happy now, lol.
    The photos are fantastic and Frankie could not have caught them better. I’ve never heard of a piebald before but I can see the different markings. Gorgeous. I was wondering if the other “defects” (awful word) affected their life spans, other than the regular dangers they face.
    THEN, I had this great idea. I was lingering over the photos and realized that if they caused a viewer to actually linger, that meant they were super good. SO, have you ever thought of submitting to a card co., BIG, as in Hallmark, etc? They would make wonderful cards.
    Think about that. Really, the idea isn’t too shabby.
    With that, it’s time for bed here. 12:22am ‘Nite Chip & Frankie 🙂
    GREAT JOB!

    July 22, 2010 at 12:23 AM

  2. …and PS/ I was speaking of ALL your photos, not just the wildlife ones. There, I’m done.

    July 22, 2010 at 12:25 AM

  3. So glad you got a shot of him today …. keep carrying that camera … and sharing the results. Lovely moments

    July 22, 2010 at 1:08 AM

  4. Sue Mac

    Im glad you got pic’s of him Chip
    and I hope he bring you luck
    lovely pic’s
    Take care
    Sue

    July 22, 2010 at 3:04 AM

  5. Great catch!! Great team work! God smiled on you two!

    July 22, 2010 at 7:52 AM

  6. Beautiful! How awesome that you are so blessed to see these creatures in their natural habitat! Beautiful! Jx

    July 22, 2010 at 8:34 AM

  7. Most Excellent!! I just love it!!

    July 22, 2010 at 9:14 AM

  8. Wonderful; photos Rocket Man and If we had such stunning wildlife living in our back yard, I would never leave without my camera.

    July 23, 2010 at 7:22 AM

Leave a Reply

