The view from my perch on the mountain

One of those days

My buddy and partner in crime, Sam the Wonder Dog (I wonder what that Dog thinks he’s doing now), sure knows how to deal with the summer heat.

Sleeping beauty

Most days he can be found napping on “his” sofa enjoying the cool air flow from the air conditioner as it washes over “his” pillow. People tell me that when a dog sleeps on his back it shows he is contented. If Sam gets any more contented he’ll melt into the cushions!

You are gonna give Sam part of that sammich, right? Don't make me eat your shoes.

Yesterday he suddenly popped upright and trotted down the hall towards our bedroom. Sam loves looking out the bedroom window when he’s not snoring on the sofa.

Thinking he had heard a cat prowling in “his” yard I didn’t pay much attention until he came trotting back, “sat pretty” in front of me and whoofed to go out.

As soon as I hooked him to his lead I discovered what he had heard…..a piebald buck in the back yard nibbling on some low hanging branches!

By the time I grabbed the camera and came back out the buck had wandered off into the trees, out of sight.

Then Sam went on point with his head held high, nose pointed straight ahead, tail straight out behind him and left paw raised (sometimes Sam thinks he’s a bird dog).

Following his stare I was surprised to see a large groundhog sitting upright a couple dozen yards from the spot the deer had been in.

Raising the camera I quickly discovered that a) the lens cap was still on, b) I hadn’t turned the camera on and c) the groundhog had disappeared while I was screwing around with the camera!

So I took a few shots of Frankie’s day lilies instead.

DL1

DL2

I only shot 10 or 12 frames before my attention was diverted by a rumble of thunder and I looked up just in time to catch the last patch of blue sky as a pop up thunderstorm rolled over the ridge.

rumbles

Naturally, as soon as I got back inside, downloaded the images from the memory card and put the camera away the storm passed over after dropping a few fat rain drops………so I said to hell with it and took a nap.

Some days you just can’t win.

8 responses

  1. Chip, here’s the deal: If I could marry a dog, I’d marry Sam. He is sooooooooo GREAT! And you couldn’t have done a better job capturing him or captioning him. I shake your hand. Excellent, excellent post from Sam, through the flowers, to that split second shot of the cloud opening (or rather, closing, but you know what I meant).
    Wow, he is one handsome boy, ummm, ummm, ummmmmmm.

    July 21, 2010 at 10:13 AM

  2. penelopephoebe

    Hiya Chip. Jenny D has said it all….what a dog!

    July 21, 2010 at 11:36 AM

  3. arlene

    Hi Chip, pity you didn’t catch the thunderstorm, a little bit of drama would have been nice.
    That’s some fat collar Sam’s wearing.! Apart from the rather ‘aloof’ expression. LOL

    July 21, 2010 at 11:38 AM

  4. Wow… sounds like an adventurous day… I’d say that maybe you’d better keep the lens cap off more often!

    July 21, 2010 at 2:33 PM

  5. Sue Mac

    Chip
    i just love the pic’s of Sam, he just a great dog
    Frankie day lilies are beautiful
    You can send summer back here anytime you like
    Take care
    Sue

    July 22, 2010 at 3:00 AM

  6. Lol. Jx

    July 22, 2010 at 8:37 AM

  7. Zia Wolf-Sun

    HoooOOOOWWWWWLLLLooooo! Wolfie has made it in finally!

    Good in here isn’t it? 😉 Had to stop and comment….Sam is here! Love ya photos and the ones of Sam are totally gorgeous…wolfie hugs Sam!! 😉

    September 14, 2010 at 1:25 PM

  8. Zia Wolf-Sun

    Hmm…that’s a wierd profile pic type thingy up there…presumably cos I haven’t got an official anything one yet 🙂

    September 14, 2010 at 1:26 PM

Leave a Reply

