The view from my perch on the mountain

In a small town

I thought I’d take y’all along on a trip into town to pick Laura up from work.

IMG_5025

As usual, I took the long way ‘round.

IMG_5342

Petunia Road

IMG_5390

 

IMG_5361

High Bridge Road

IMG_5367

 

IMG_5347

West Lee Highway

IMG_5405

4th & Main, downtown Wytheville.

IMG_5410

Cove Road

IMG_5415

4th & Commonwealth heading into town with Sand Mountain in the background.

IMG_5418

Best sammiches in town!

IMG_5427

Our not so little anymore baby girl.

Hope y’all enjoyed the ride.

8 responses

  1. Awesome pics. What a beautiful place you live in. I especially like the red shed with the cow sitting beside it, and the very settler-looking pic of the two-storey log cabin house! Jx

    July 18, 2010 at 5:34 PM

  2. Great ride … lovely country pics. I lve the feel of the farm buildings

    July 18, 2010 at 5:47 PM

  3. Curtis

    Makes me wanna take a trip back home.

    July 18, 2010 at 5:50 PM

  4. Carrie

    Hey Chip had to come over for a look. Love all your work over here as well. My photos are piling up just no time or inspiration to blog them. I hate to say my last 2 blogs are old ones from spaces. Shit just happens here to keep me from this computer. Half of today was spent trying to heard a bunches of cows back here that broke our gates and our 4 calfs went with them. Now its not easy to get the calfs cut out so we bring the whole herd back. I wear my river shoes and a skirt cause if the cows cross the creek I hitch up my skirt and head right in. After 3 hours we finally got our 4 guys back into the pasture and all the gates tied closed. This is not done on horse by on foot. At least I always get a great workout for the day. Well have a great week. Hugs Carrie

    July 18, 2010 at 7:21 PM

  5. Chip, I read EVERYTHING! I couldn’t get enough. It was more fun than anything I’ve done in ages and I’m dying of envy. Remember I told you that I lived in Lynchburg for a couple of years and this reminded me of that. I miss the country and the mountains now more than I realized. Every picture told it’s own story even without typed words, and every photo was just wonderful. I mean, who could not love a road called Petunia?
    I’m certain the photo of the black and white dog is yours — Sam? He’s a beauty! I love the name Sam. That’s my Maine Coon cat’s name. Solid name isn’t it.
    You and Frankie are so darn lucky to be in Wytheville (with-vul). Grand, grand place to be a raise a family 😀

    July 18, 2010 at 8:42 PM

  6. Sue Mac

    Morning Chip
    I think Im getting old, i was sure I comment here this morning, Ive just come back for another look at your pic’s,
    Thank you for taking us on your ride to town, The pic of Laura is lovely she growing up so quick,
    take care
    Sue

    July 19, 2010 at 12:54 AM

  7. Ah, love it! Thanks for the trip in your neck of the woods!

    July 19, 2010 at 9:38 AM

  8. I did… I always love your photos… they’re always the perfect color with lots of interesting old buildings!

    July 19, 2010 at 3:34 PM

Leave a Reply

