The view from my perch on the mountain

Burds, a shed and sunset

Cabin fever started to work on me today and I lucked out; the temperature and humidity started taking a nose dive as the sun went down.

IMG_5093

But before that happened I was back to my old tricks; shooting the visitors in Burd Town through the bedroom window. For those who don’t already know, Burd Town is what I call the tree full of feeders Frankie has outside our bedroom window. She loves watching the little guys and they make interesting photo subjects .

IMG_5095

They also make great learning aids when I’m experimenting with my new lens. Today was so boring that I actually tore the wrapper off the manual and read it! I have it pretty much figured out and I’m very impressed with the clarity and crispness it produces but there’s no such thing as too much practice. This female cardinal was happy to pose for me…..as long as the supply of sunflower seeds in the feeder held out. 

IMG_5104

Field Sparrow

IMG_5107

Chipping Sparrow

IMG_5119

As the temperature dropped into the 70s I couldn’t take being indoors any longer so Sam and I went for a short ride. I’ve been meaning to get a shot of this farm shed.

IMG_5120

My intention was to find a good place to watch and capture the sunset but that didn’t work out. A church group was having a yard sale in the parking lot I chose and space was at a premium.

Oh, well There will be other days and other sunsets. At least I managed to get this last shot from the driver’s side window as I waited to pull out of the lot.

7 responses

  1. Sue Mac

    Hi Chip
    Love the flag on the shed, and the sunset,
    Your birds are just beautiful
    Im glad you got out even if for a short time
    Take care
    Sue

    July 14, 2010 at 9:28 PM

  2. roketman

    Me too, Sue, me too!

    July 14, 2010 at 9:33 PM

  3. I think that is a wonderful sunset shot. It has a lot of the suns warmth in it. Birds were sure busy here today too. My bath was loaded and all the water is almost gone. They must have had a good time out there today in the heat. Wonderful bird pics : )

    July 14, 2010 at 9:41 PM

  4. What a cool shed! You’re a good reminder for me to put out more seed in the morning. I’ve neglected my feeders lately. 😦
    Gorgeous sunset with the mountains silhouetting the frame. Sometimes those shots from the car window are the best!

    July 15, 2010 at 12:17 AM

  5. Glad you got out at last …. it’s hot and humid here too … “down” to 32C at the moment … too hot for me to even think of picking up the camera …

    The shed is delightful … thanks for taking us out with you ….

    July 15, 2010 at 8:43 AM

  6. You did good, Chip… looks like that new camera stuff is working out for you!!

    July 15, 2010 at 10:32 AM

  7. Who would have thought it? A patriotic shed!

    July 19, 2010 at 8:07 AM

Leave a Reply

