The view from my perch on the mountain

From the back yard

The heat wave dissipated enough for me to get outdoors with the camera late yesterday afternoon and these are a few of the shots I got.

makin' hay

Puttin’ Up Hay

That’s what it’s called around here. Farmers, especially livestock owners have been worried by the way the heat wave has effected hay production. The more hay they can produce this summer, the less they’ll have to buy and the lower the price will be come winter. These bales will be left out to dry for a couple of weeks before they’re hauled off to  the hay barn.

Bird on a wire

Bird on a wire.

American Robin on the lookout for insects in the freshly mowed fields.

sunset 1

These clouds were the leading edge of the cold front that moved in overnight.

sunset 2

We’ve had scattered showers today, heavy at times, and not a moment too soon. Showers and thunderstorms are in the forecast for most of this week and we’re thankful for that. I may have to mow our lawn this month after all! The last time I mowed was June 27th.

6 responses

  1. Lovely photos… poor your having to mow… you gotta riding mower, you’ll be ok…

    July 12, 2010 at 4:09 PM

  2. Are you serious?? The last time you mowed was the 27th? You lucky dog. lol I’ve been mowing almost twice a week up until the last two wks. The rain yesterday and today changed that though. It sure grows fast.

    July 12, 2010 at 4:46 PM

  3. I love the way the sun has caught the Robin’s breast … and such a keen eye. Lovely pic

    July 12, 2010 at 4:55 PM

  4. I love the American Robyn pic but it sort of looks super-imposed…did you enlarge the pic? Do you get my posts? Jx

    July 12, 2010 at 4:57 PM

  5. roketman

    Yes, Jodie, I’m getting your posts on Google Reader Sorry but I’ve managed to get behind in my reading and I’m about 100 blogs behind right now. I’ll catch up tonight or tomorrow at the latest.
    As to the photo; all I did was crop out the telephone pole on the right side of the frame. This was shot with my long lens at max zoom.

    July 12, 2010 at 9:28 PM

  6. Sue Mac

    Hi Chip
    Love the clouds in the sky in the last two pic’s ,
    Beautiful pictures
    Take care
    Sue

    July 12, 2010 at 11:09 PM

Leave a Reply

