The view from my perch on the mountain

Early summer shots

Since first taking up photography as a serious hobby last year it has become my habit to carry my camera everywhere I go and to spend at least part of each day wandering the back roads in search of that “one great shot”. Lately the summer heat and humidity, which aggravates my bronchial asthma, has drastically reduced my daytime cruising.

To give you an idea of just how thoroughly the shutter bug has me in it’s grip, I’ve shot over 20,000 frames in the past 14 months. My wife, Frankie, has caught the bug as well so, even though I’m not shooting as much or as often, I still have plenty of images to work with until fall returns.

IMG_4690

Frankie captured these first 2 images last week as we were driving down Pepper’s Ferry Road. Even though a broken telephoto lens means we only have an 18-55MM image stabilized lens for the time being we can still get a few great shots.

IMG_4691

Did you spot the little fawn in the lower right corner? We have no way of knowing if the fawn has lost it’s mother but she was nowhere in sight. Spotting a fawn this small on it’s own is very rare. When I first spotted it bouncing around in the field I thought it was a dog.

IMG_4697

Despite the weather I still manage a few frames now and then. Frankie usually works the early shift and I often drive her in when Laura needs the Jeep they share. We pass a stock pond on the way to town and some mornings I manage to catch the sunrise behind the pond just right.

IMG_4698

Further along the road the fresh hay bales in some of the fields take on a glow of their own as the rising sun clears the ridges.

6 responses

  1. You’ve more patience than I do… I love to take photo’s but just don’t have the head for it… I can’t get conjunction of F and shutter speed to help and make the photo’s prettier…

    July 5, 2010 at 4:19 PM

  2. roketman

    Patience was something I REALLY had to work at developing and is still a battle at times.

    July 5, 2010 at 5:15 PM

  3. Sue Mac

    Hi Chip
    love your little fawn and hope Mum was close by,
    Oh the haybale, oh to have summer back, cant wait it never been this cold here before
    Great pic’s
    Take care
    Sue

    July 6, 2010 at 2:18 AM

  4. Ha Rocketman, God give you patience …. and give it to you NOW!!

    Loved the mist rising off the pond in the morning shot …..

    July 6, 2010 at 4:38 AM

  5. Good to find the main site for your photos Chip (through WLS – is there a link from Blogger).

    Keep snapping
    Sandy

    July 6, 2010 at 6:40 AM

    • roketman

      Sure is, Sandy!

      July 6, 2010 at 12:20 PM

Leave a Reply

