The view from my perch on the mountain

Surprise, surprise!

I haven’t spent as much time out roaming the mountains as I’d like the past few days thanks to the oppressive heat and humidity. However, I have managed a couple of short forays and these are some of the images I’ve captured this weekend.

IMG_4558

I’ve mentioned the population explosion in the goose flock nearby and the shot above is one that Frankie got from the passenger side window as we drove to town yesterday. There are at least three time that number divided between 2 small ponds within a mile of our home.

IMG_4561

The summer haze is dissipating because the humidity is beginning to let up. Cloud shadows are once again visible dancing across the fields.

deer 1

Earlier in the year I got quite a few frames of a piebald doe feeding in our yard. The genetic mutation causing the white markings on the flanks is just uncommon enough for local lore to hold that seeing one is a good omen. As I pulled into my parking space this afternoon I spotted a new piebald grazing on some low hanging branches just behind the house. Apparently that house cat in the right of the frame thinks she’s a lion.

deer 2

This is where I really miss my long lens.  It wasn’t until I downloaded the images to my laptop and began cleaning them up that I realized that this is not only nit the same deer, it’s actually a very rare piebald buck!

deer 3

I can’t wait to show these shots to my brother in law, Fish Hook!

IMG_4605

I also managed to catch this critter feeding on the lavender Frankie has growing under the kitchen window…….

IMG_4608

……and one of the first blooms on her Knockout Rose after transplanting into the flower bed.

6 responses

  1. Arlene

    Super shots Chip, even the piebald deer. I hope these geese got across the road in one piece.
    Pretty butterfly but you’re ‘heather’ isn’t quite the same as the stuff we grow in Scotland, Lovely rose and I can relate to that, Keep well. Tango sends k9 greetings to Sam.

    June 27, 2010 at 4:06 PM

  2. roketman

    Yeah, that’s probably because it’s actually lavendar….DOH! Horticulturally challenged!

    June 27, 2010 at 4:15 PM

  3. Sue Mac

    Wonderful shot’s Chip
    Frankie’s garden must look so beautiful and your deer well he just great,
    wish he was walking around my back yard, hope the weather easy for you soon
    take care
    Sue

    June 28, 2010 at 12:05 AM

  4. Nancy Co

    Hi Chip really enjoyed the pictures! I felt I was almost there and you were saying “look here, look there”….I like seeing thru your eyes…kids need to be fed, enjoyed the respite Chip =].

    June 29, 2010 at 4:26 PM

  5. Have you thought about writing poetry because with a few tweaks here and there, in the writing you have already written (coupled with the photo) you have poems coming out your ears! Awesome! Jx

    June 29, 2010 at 9:48 PM

  6. Wonderful shots, I love the wildlife captured by camera this way, nice job!

    June 30, 2010 at 3:48 PM

Leave a Reply

