The view from my perch on the mountain

Zero Dark Thirty

Okay, maybe it wasn’t exactly dark when I pried my eyes open to drive Frankie to work this morning but it was early. The oppressive heat and humidity of the past week have kept me in the house more than usual because it triggers my asthma. As a result I’m not out burning off energy and this has led to a return of my insomnia. If this weather pattern doesn’t change soon I may have to go back to physical therapy. I just hate paying those sadists to yell at me for over doing the exercise routines.

IMG_4532

Trying to function after 2 or 3 hours sleep, and before the coffee kicks in, has never been my strong suit but there are rewards to being out and about at the crack of dawn.

IMG_4536 

As usual, the geese were crossing the road to “their” pond forcing me to stop and wait for them to meander across the pavement. One of these mornings I’ll be awake enough to take a long shot as they cross. There must be at least 50 birds in the flock.

IMG_4544

Waiting for the geese produced another reward; the first Indigo Bunting I’ve seen this year! I’m really missing my long lens but it’s still in the shop for warranty repair so this was shot with the 18-55MM lens.

IMG_4550

Muggy weather or not, I’m getting that old wander lust again but I’m trying to hold out until my lens comes back. How much longer I can resist the urge to go exploring remains to be seen. At least Godzilla has dual air conditioning units so I can always shoot from the driver’s side window. Now all I have to do is talk Frankie into letting me blow some gas money……….

8 responses

  1. Geez! I just love the quality of your cameras. I have lost the piece of paper I wrote it on…any chance to emailing it to me? Pwetty pwease… Mwah. Jx

    June 25, 2010 at 1:27 PM

  2. Fizz

    Zero Dark Thirty is 5:30 AM so it’s ok if there was a little light out there, after all the sun does start to rise about that time in the middle of June.

    I miss your long lens, too. I would love to see a photo of the bunting with the longer lens.

    I have asthma, too. That’s why I’m never out of doors in the summer here. It just feels like my lungs are on fire…

    Have a great Friday!

    June 25, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    • roketman

      Don’t I know that feeling! It’s scary when you can’t get a breath. Even though I use a nebulizer when this sort of weather rolls in I still went through 2 rescue inhalers last year.

      June 25, 2010 at 3:01 PM

  3. Sue Mac

    Chip
    I hope your get better weather soon, so you can get out and about, It would be wonderful to see so many geese crossing the road at the same time,I too hope you have your long lens back soon, as for gas money, what about taking the very very long way home after you take Frankie to work
    Take care
    Sue

    June 25, 2010 at 11:23 PM

  4. Hopefully today was a little cooler …. I dread to think of you being in the hands of the physio sadists ….. what a beautiful sunrise though to compensate for being up so early …. maybe you should sleep in the heat of the day, and exercise at night!!

    June 26, 2010 at 2:03 AM

  5. Sue A. Lehman

    I’m not surprised you’re having trouble breathing—pollen counts have been high this year and you guys get so much muggy weather in VA. My mother has asthma problems and since she moved from AZ, they have been worse. Perhaps you should consider a dryer climate. I know that is hard to find during the El Nino years, but here, things usually calm down—hay fever-wise—during the summer, as long as the winds are low. I can usually give up my meds for the summer and use only the breathe-right (or Clear Passage) strips at night. They help a lot!

    June 27, 2010 at 1:48 PM

    • roketman

      Sue, about the only time I have trouble breathing is when the heat and humidity both climb into the 80s. The humidity is generally a lot lower than that and summer heat waves, like the one we’re almost done with, usually few and far between this high up. On most summer days we only need the A/C for 3 or 4 hours in the late afternoon and it’s almost chilly once the sun goes down.

      June 27, 2010 at 3:52 PM

Leave a Reply

