The view from my perch on the mountain

Sunset On The Rocks

The next to the last day of vacation and I was forced to take a rest by the three H’s (heat, haze and humidity) and a very sore back and legs after wandering through a large museum on each of the past two days. My old butt was just worn slam out!

 IMG_4018

I decided to spend the day sorting and editing some of the 1500+ frames I’d shot thus far while in Virginia Beach but soon grew restless and headed out to see what was blooming in Mom’s garden.

IMG_4021

I’ve been told, repeatedly, what each variety is but I am horticulturally challenged and likely will be for life. I just know what pleases my eye through the viewfinder and will be content to let it go at that.

IMG_4027

Mom does have a touch when it comes to posies.

IMG_4030

It was about this time that a familiar voice spoke to me.

IMG_4005

COME ON, DADDY;

WE’RE GOING TO THE BEACH!

IMG_4082

RUN, JOHN, RUN!

SAMMY WANTS TO SWIM!!!

IMG_4108

John is Laura’s boyfriend and Sam was wearing him out! This was also Sam’s first trip to the beach in warm weather and he had just learned that Labs can swim. I concentrated on the scenery while Sam ran John ragged.

IMG_4109

The gulls seemed to be riding the golden beams of sunlight as much as the onshore breeze.

IMG_4090

This is the fence line between the US Navy base at Little Creek and the civilian beach. My uncle owned a good bit of the beach running on this side of the fence and this is where I, and a great many other Chic’s Beach teens, came of age. The rip rap boulders placed along the fence line are known as The Rocks.

IMG_4107

Besides learning how to surf, illegally, on the Navy side of the fence where the shore break is always much better, many of us spent long hours sitting on those rocks.

IMG_4118

Whether pondering the mysteries of life, indulging in a little illegal intoxicants, experiencing first love or just watching the sunset The Rocks was an integral part of our youth and the mere mention of the name will always bring a smile and faraway look to any of us.

IMG_4120

As I watched a few couples, both young and not so young, stroll hand in hand towards The Rocks to watch the sun set once more I had a pleasant bout of déjà vu.

IMG_4116

As a lone gull patrolled the water’s edge in my view finder I was once more back in the days of my youth. This is what draws me back to the beach no matter how far I roam. Can you feel The Rocks calling to you to come sit a spell with the rest of us?

This post is dedicated to Jeanne Holland Newton who requested a few shots of this special place while I was back home with my family, visiting Mom. Her request set me to thinking about just how much this section of surf and sand means to me and I realized that I’m not the only one who loves this special place. Thanks Jeanne!

9 responses

  1. Fizz

    Beautiful.. wonderful… Sounds like memory lane was good to you!!

    June 21, 2010 at 8:42 AM

  2. Chip, you will never know how your photos and words have blessed me. They’ve touched my heart, and my spirit. An immeasurable gift. Time has not tainted my memories, nor the variety of emotions “the rocks and the beach” evoke. Today, I’m going to soar much like the gull within those memories, with images renewed and refreshed, by your unselfishness. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

    June 21, 2010 at 10:06 AM

  3. Sharon Castle Kjar

    Thank you Chip! I miss Virginia Beach and this beach especially! Your photography is amazing…I too will take some shots when I am down there at the end of July. I can’t wait to put my feet in the sand and walk along the water at sunrise…

    June 21, 2010 at 12:01 PM

  4. Nancy Co

    Hi Chip! uhoo! I just followed your facebook addresses!

    June 21, 2010 at 10:19 PM

    • roketman

      Hello, Nancy! Fancy meeting you here!

      June 21, 2010 at 10:23 PM

  5. I don’t know the beach … but the emotion you arouse is universal …. Ah! youth and dreams and all those possibilities … and forever soaring with the gulls …. good to revisit …. Loved this post, thanks.

    June 25, 2010 at 1:32 PM

  6. Those are some beautiful sunset shots. Thanks for sharing them on Sunset Sunday. I’m glad I got to see them.

    September 5, 2010 at 2:45 PM

  7. Stunning Series of Sunsets, Wow. Love them Chip.
    Your flowers are wonderful.
    Thanks for the view. Peaceful and calming and how I wish I was on the beach to just sit and watch that sun as it set and slowly left .
    Have a peacefilled rest of the day

    and nothing is complete without your BF . He is so beautiful also.

    September 5, 2010 at 5:45 PM

  8. Pingback: 2010 in review « The Pine Ridge Philosopher

Leave a Reply

