The view from my perch on the mountain

The big night

After a day of the “three H’s” (hot,hazy and humid, our usual late summer weather) which produced an afternoon of pop up thunderstorms, the skies cleared and temperatures fell to a comfortable level just in time for Laura’s high school commencement ceremony.

IMG_2064

The fog forming in the low-lying areas even stayed just behind the ridge until the festivities were over.

IMG_1998

Frankie giving Laura Roses from her aunt Pat.

IMG_2030

Right where I’d expect to find her; Laura was front row, center.

100_3219

Getting the all important sheep skin. Frankie got this shot with a point and shoot Kodak Easy Share. I was a little miffed because I was sitting right beside her with $800 worth of camera and zoom lens in my hands and I couldn’t get a decent shot!

IMG_2118

A rare occurrence….. the three of us in the same frame. I’m usually on the other side of the view finder. My first thought when I saw this was “Man, am I getting old!”

IMG_2121

Laura and John. The white strands in Laura’s hair are the result of the Silly String battle that broke out as the caps went airborne when the last diploma was handed out. Between the wildly dancing and screaming graduates, flying caps, dozens of jets of Silly String and what I think may have even been several shoes and a couple of flying diplomas I don’t think I could have captured the chaos with a video camera! I fired off at least three dozen frames in burst mode and they all came out looking like a polka-dotted snow storm.

Anyway, there you have it. Our little girl is now of legal age, a high school graduate and a fine young woman. Next up for her is college in the fall to pursue her teaching certificate. I can’t begin to tell you how proud we are of her!

2 responses

  1. Jodine Derena Butler

    I bet you are SO proud! Well done! I guess you did a few things right… Jx

    June 8, 2010 at 7:07 AM

  2. I KNOW you’re rpoud!!

    June 9, 2010 at 9:13 AM

Leave a Reply

