The view from my perch on the mountain

Dawn of a new day

I mean that both literally and figuratively. Last night my blogging home for the past 15 months went live with a much touted upgrade that has a majority of its users confused and angry, me among them.

IMG_2352

That fiasco and a bout of insomnia soon had me busy searching for a better forum for my photography and led to the creation of this site. I have some learning to do but I’m pleased with the results thus far.

IMG_2354

So much for the figurative dawning of a new day and on to the literal. Upon opening the door this morning on the way to drive my wife to work I was greeted by a rosy glow in the east. I carry my camera with me everywhere I go and was fortunate enough to capture a foggy Appalachian sunrise.

IMG_2355

As the fog burns off the stock pond just down the road the fog of fatigue is settling over my mind. As my eyes are growing heavy so I’ll keep this post short. I hope you’ve enjoyed the sunrise as much as I did.

8 responses

  1. I know how you feel…the WLS upgrades haven’t exactly thrilled ME, either. Meanwhile, our mutual friend, Technogran is on Cloud 9. APPARENTLY most of this was her idea. May I quote her: “I am so sorry that you do not seem to like the Wave 4 updates Cassie. I also am concerned about my privacy as you are, but I love all the new updates, in fact you can blame me as most of them are the requests and wishes I actually asked for.”

    SHE’S on Cloud 9.

    Meanwhile, just to let you know…yes..WLS DOES ask for your mobile phone number until you get your privacy settings just right. It also insists on wanting to connect you to Facebook and YouTube and the Lord knoweth what else.

    I suspect that this Wave 4 is going to lead to a lot of wipe outs along the way….

    June 8, 2010 at 9:21 AM

    • roketman

      I’m just going to let my space sit idle until, and if, they get the wrinkles ironed out. Another standard Microsoft product; get it working, sort of, release it and let the end users fix the bugs. Not me……that’s what the developers get paid for.

      June 8, 2010 at 10:27 AM

  2. Hi Roketman, I told you I was going to have a peek at your blog, I can’t quite believe that Technogran can have that much sway over FB/MSN or whoever it is who runs Spaces, nah that sounds a bit far fetched, she just likes to get her teeth into techie stuff, I wish I had the time. I just hope either we manage to get to grips with it or they change it back, but I can’t see that happening. If it gets beyond me I would very reluctantly drop my blog and pick up my WordPress one, but it’s boring by comparison, Take care

    June 8, 2010 at 5:34 PM

  3. Hello Rocketman (and Cass). Also dislike being lab rat. This page looks great and I too am going to have leave wordzoo closed (if I figure out how again) until the whatever whatevers. I got all agitated too and I just like to blog/write and not go all coo-koo because of upgrades. I am inspired at how you set up another blog in one night (!) and think I will, with help, also look at alternatives. Say ‘Hi’ to Mrs and pat Sam for me. I will bookmark this page to remember where you are. Now to check out your photo blog. Big Smiles. Sending Happy Thoughts

    June 8, 2010 at 10:07 PM

    • Happy Flower, Sharilyn! I have been trying to contact you as you know…but with blank text… I don’t know why all my emails are blank? I don’t know how to contact WLS to ask them to fix it either. Anyway, what I wanted to tell you was that HERE I AM! I wanted to re-connect and introduce you to my new websites… I have added yours onto my blogroll. would love to see your site on WordPress…

      I got so disillusioned with WLS that I moved to here. Chip… would you mind contacting Sharilyn…since my email is not working properly and tell her this is what was in my email… Jx

      June 9, 2010 at 2:01 AM

  4. Cass

    Hi everybody! I’m thinking about closing down WLS too. Don’t want to and I am going to wait until I see if they fix some of the issues. “Guest Book” especially.

    Meanwhile I have opened up a MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/shadowcass so you can always visit me over there or enjoy the videos on my YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/lezwitch or just listen to my Pandora radio stations http://www.pandora.com/people/shadowsgirl_2005#

    I mean, if ya want. Still blogging on wls for now http://aginghag.spaces.live.com

    and so forth. But these changes are most upsetting.

    June 9, 2010 at 5:55 AM

  5. I’ve been hanging Tuff with WLS for a very long time. I’ve adapted to every single change… but this last one has done made me crazy. I just wanna blog. I liked WLS because they seemed to be very Family friendly… I don’t wanna be around a bunch of crazies. Unfortunately, they can’t seem to keep the crazies out and they’ve changed the blogging so much that it seems to me that they’ll eventually do away with Spaces… that’s not the model they want to follow anymore. That’s what I get out of this, anyway.

    I’m quite happy over here at WordPress. Seems like some of the others are going to Blogspot. It’s ok, but it seems like WordPress is less weird… I don’t know how else to explain it…

    Anyway… glad to see you!!

    June 14, 2010 at 11:45 AM

  6. Since the Wave 4 debacle I have been spreading out a bit. You can now find me on MySpace and Facebook (with all my crazy friends) but I am still blogging on Windows Live Spaces too.

    I mean they haven’t changed the blog function. True, they limit the comments but I figure if anyone has anything both lengthy and important to say they can always send it to me in an email. As for the graphics in the Guest Book I just added a module so that my friends can leave me graphics.

    For all the complaining that they couldn’t only ONE has since.

    (Happy Flower).

    SO….if you can’t stand visiting WLS http://aginghag.spaces.live.com

    You can always follow the other link to my MySpace page.

    June 14, 2010 at 12:09 PM

Leave a Reply

